We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning venue, magnificent lake views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added VR Rotorua Lake Resort to your Saves list
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning venue, magnificent lake views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

An excellent venue for a business workshop - very quiet, relaxing view of the lake, excellent service and food and comfortable rooms. The only drawback was that the shower floor was not bevelled so the water flowed out of the shower and into the bedroom.
It's an inexpensive taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear 2kiwis_11:
Yes, it is right next door kinda from Rotorua airport. One of the rooms has uneven shower floor which needs attention. The whole resort is taking a very good shape after being taken over by new management from 1st April 2014.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    49
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
76
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We did have a lovely night's stay at Amora. The hotel staff we excellent and the food was just amazing. However it seemed a bit like the hotel was in the process of rebranding itself and wasn't sure yet whether it was a luxury resort or a mid-range hotel, so there were some discrepancies, for example the dinner was amazing but the room wasn't completely clean. If they could sort these things out I think it'd be a great place to holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Debinstal:
Yest it was in the process of rebranding in 2011 as I understand now from the past documents. We have taken over wef 1st april 2014 and see how it looks now. Pl do visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in a room with the most amazing views even on the ground floor.
Found everything predominately clean but when I pulled back my bed there was two hairs. One long blond hair by the bed head and one black hair on the bed.
On top of that, the walls are thin and you can hear people talking, blowing their nose and using the shower.
On top of this we were near the laundry. It felt like it NEVER stopped

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Shazzaaust:
Appreicate your comments of 2011 but we have recently taken over this beautiful piece of resort and striving to make it a popular destination. Looking forward to your visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stunning location if you have a car. They didn't light the fire till 5pm which was a pity as it was cold. Food was good but rooms are a bit small for a long stay. Overall it felt a bit empty and cold in July.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear MickeyCanada:
Yes it is cold in winter. But more warmth has come to this stunning location wef 1st april 2014 as new management has taken over. Our energetic and young General Manager is on the floor meeting and greeting guests.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked a King Suite Extravaganza package and felt it was pretty good value for money.
We only stayed one night, the restaurant was nice and was also peaceful both at dinner time and again at breakfast.
Both dinner and breakfast were great and the service was friendly and efficient.
The hotel itself is fairly old but is well maintained and presentable.
The room we had was also a little dated but altogether in keeping with the exterior style of the hotel, everything was clean tidy and in working order, the view was great and it was quiet.
We had no problems with our brief stay and will return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the far right hand corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A G, Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. We certainly appreciate your positive comments and were pleased to see that you will come back and stay at a later date. Thank you and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The rooms need to be updated. The carpet, beds, bathroom.....everything. Yes, it was clean. There was no AC, and some of the windows did not have screens. It was nice to look out at the lake, but we could not walk around the lake because of the "droppings" from the geese. It was a bit far from the center of town which was good and bad. Good because it was quiet, bad because it was far from anything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A G, Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Your comments have been noted with thanks and have been helpful in identifing the needs and opinions of leisure travellers who stay with us. Located 15 minutes drive from Rotorua CBD, the Amora Lake Resort makes an excellent alternative to the city hotels, surronded by nature with stunning lake views.
Kind regard and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The Amora Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the Amora Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VR Rotorua Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.