We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways

Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways
1146 Tutanekai St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tunisian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is such a gem of a restaurant and with very friendly staff! We were greeted with two big smiles and served delicious kebabs for a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this place for those on a budget and looking for some tasty grub.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    18
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

That restaurant's price was reasonable and food were high quality!! And the owner was very friendly n lively n cheerful.We were just amazed;) We'll visit when we come back. Nice to see u owner:))) Best regards. From 2 Japanese tourists

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quantity and quality ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The service was fantastic.
I ordered the rice dish and made the mistake of ordering a pizza too because I was so hungry and though the portions would be small.

The plate of rice was huge! Full of curry and rice with some salad. It was nice but to be honest it was not very flavourful. All I could taste was the black pepper, onions, tomatoes and cream. I didn't get any North African spice or flare.

But that said, it was nice! I might have expected too much.

The other half I the dinner was the pizza.

Hands down, some of the nicest pizza I have ever had!
I had the Arabian pizza and it was delicious. Thin crust and all!
Definitely worth popping in to grab a pizza next time your around.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the known universe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I always visit this place after mountain biking or when travelling through Rotorua. The Sahara pizza is the greatest pizza in the visible universe. Tasty, spicy, but still retains its sooth Italian heritage. Fantastic!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kebab Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We liked the service and the well filled Kebabs which we had as take aways. The Very Good is because they were. I feel that the in dining experience may well deserve an excellent based on the number of filled tables and the happy chatting.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.