We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty at a very good price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways

Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways
1146 Tutanekai St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 153 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Tunisian
Restaurant details
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very tasty at a very good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Do you like mediterranean food, spicy and delicious meals in the centre of Taupo, a very friendly service and all this at a very good price? Try Ali Baba's, you'll love it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Guaranteed to hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've lived in NZ for over a dozen years and this is one of the nicest Middle Eastern cuisine restaurants I've been to. The service was friendly, the food was excellent. Good amount of meat cooked to perfection, delicious spices and freshly cut salad. Good all round.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Great food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was one of the best meals we've ever had in New Zealad in our 18 months stay :)
Nice family place for sitting and great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The best meals at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a rice meal, a pasta meal, a pizza, and a kebab. All were amazingly delicious. In fact some of our family members went back for more next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Berber is best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ordered berber rice for me and tunisian rice for my hubby, it was delicious. Big serve and hard to finish it, real value for money. Quite small restaurant but never mind as food so nice. Really nice guy behind the counter and charm service. Halal premises.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.