We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oppie's Fish & Chips

Oppie's Fish & Chips
259 Fenton, Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 166 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New Zealand Herald ranks Oppie's #4 Fish and Chips place in New Zealand. I don't know who the other 3 are but Oppies is the best i've had and their chinese takeaway is great too. good prices, generous portions.
Caldwell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very popular place for carry out resulting in 15 to 30 minute for your order, but the wait was worth it. Besides fish they also had a variety of Chinese selections.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    38
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santo Andre, SP
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yummy fish n chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I recommended this place for to try fish and chips!! The portion is so big and can shared for two people.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese takeaways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The first thing I'd say is unless you have a massive appetite get one meal between two people. The meals are massive. The Chinese food was lovely, full of lots of different vegetables which I really like. It actually tasted healthy too !!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice meals with plenty of selection. Prices were good. But I wouldn't say (as per their menu) that they are the best chip shop in New Zealand.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good fish, average chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Saw the reviews and awards for this place and decided to grab dinner; good fish and good chips but nothing outstanding. Awards are for healthier chips rather than tasty I think.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oppie's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Oppie's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oppie's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.