We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destiny took us to this most beautiful B&B with the wonderful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doolan's Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Doolan's Country Retreat to your Saves list
Doolan's Country Retreat
165 Dalbeth Rd, RD 2, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Contact Direct & Save
Ranked #3 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Destiny took us to this most beautiful B&B with the wonderful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The most beautiful setting up a hill with most interesting house. Very close to town center and
attractions.
Christine is the most gracious host. You leave having the impression you made a close friend.
She has 3 donkeys that enjoy being fed by new guests.
Christine knows a lot about Maori culture and loves to share it with you.
I thank destiny that brought us here.

Room Tip: She has a beautiful family of quails living around the house and we stayed in the quail room. Beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
126
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our stay at Doolan's was one of the highlights of our two week trip through New Zealand. Christine is a gracious and charming host. The people who wrote the negative review have little appreciation for staying in a beautiful private home. It's not a hotel, and that is the beauty of the Bed and Breakfast experience. It's the people you meet along the way in your travels that make it memorable. Christine sat outside with us telling us stories of the southern constellations while we photographed the night sky. She was knowledgeable and helpful with sightseeing advice, surprised us with a tray of appetizers and served a delicious breakfast. Her home and landscaping are simply beautiful. We would highly recommend a stay at Doonlan's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

What a beautiful setting and special host. We enjoyed a spacious room with king size bed beautiful bedding and ensuite bathroom. The home is decorated with an artists eye and designed with large open spaces . With lots of spaces to enjoy a cup of tea and a good book or catching up on emails it was a B&B that is made for comfort . While we were in the area it was quite warm andI in the evening we noticed that the air conditioning was on to cool things and increase air circulation. We had a very comfortable sleep. Christine our host is a charming lady and an accomplished cook. For breakfast an array of jams made by Christine, cereals, fresh fruit salads, juices and a different hot main every day of our three day visit. We enjoyed home baked goodies and a cup of coffee every afternoon after our explorations of the Rotorua area. We have stayed at many B&B's in our travels around the world and Doolan's Country Retreat deserves every accolade she has received

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The 4 nights we spent at Doolan's Country Retreat were a highlight of our stay in NZ. Our hostess Christine went above and beyond to make us welcome, comfortable and well fed. Great continental breakfast choices plus a different cooked option (all yummy!) every day was a good start. Christine's advice on things to do/places to visit was excellent, and she did much of the booking for us. Our room was perfectly clean, the décor was lovely, wonderful big shower and the bed most comfortable. Free WiFi was available in all the (at least 4!) beautiful sitting areas of the house. We actually felt like we were friends of the family rather than paying guests, and enjoyed every bit of our stay. If you like comfort, peaceful and beautiful surrounds, and a friendly personal touch, this is the place for you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

On our 6week trip to Aus & NZ we booked 2 nights on line from the UK on the strength of TA reports! What a mistake. We checked out after the first night! If this is what the B&B crowd think is good then they need to wake up in 2014
Positives:- the setting of the property on high ground & the friendly welcome.
Negatives:- the above is irrelevant if the business basics are poor! Bedrooms are tiny, the double bed too small, the shower-room minute, no wi-fi reception in the bedroom, the toilet cistern leaked noisily, no room temperature control( except for the window), sound insulation is appalling (the next room emptied their wardrobe at 7-30 & we were all woken up) & decor is a bit "old lady-ish." But the straw that broke the camels back was the awful breakfast (another TA bum-steer)! We joined the other 3 couples at the communal table, which had orange juice, cereal, toast & a little fruit & were asked by the wife of one of the other guests who seemed to be helping out (& what on earth is that all about)..."would we like a mushroom omelette?" We answered "no thanks". And that was it! Nothing else! No bacon, no other egg options, no sausage, no meats, no tomato, no cheese. Nothing else. What a sham! We left after this & old Christine who runs the place had the cheek to keep our $220 for the second night! We checked into Hamurana Lodge 2 miles away & at $300 for B&B it was lovely to re-enter the professional world again! Come on you B&B crowd open your eyes to modern standards and don't write about the donkeys!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordstreet, Owner at Doolan's Country Retreat, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am, however, somewhat surprised at the negative comments made. I always greet my guests with a warm welcome and pride myself on the 146 Excellent and 5 Very Good Reviews I have received to date. I do not take these reviews and accolades for granted, and always strive to offer my clients the very best during their stay.

On arrival you were shown to the White Doves Room and made no comment that you were unhappy with the size of the bed or the room and its décor. Whilst you complain in your review that your bed was too small, it was, as advertised, a standard double bed. Other rooms with larger beds were available at the time that you booked, but you did not choose one of these.

I regret that there was a temporary problem with the toilet cistern, but such things occur from time to time, and as a result of being made aware of this I had the problem rectified within a couple of hours.

B&Bs such as mine are not purpose-built, commercial accommodation establishments. Our key point of difference is that we invite guests to share our home, and to engage with us as hosts as well as with fellow guests. We pride ourselves in offering a high standard of accommodation in beautiful surroundings, and above all in offering a level of service and warmth of hospitality that is second to none. I am saddened that you were immune to all of this, and can only surmise that you have misunderstood the nature of B&Bs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a truly lovely place; a bit north of Rotorua, definitely out of the sulfur odor area. Christine is fabulous, very welcoming and very helpful. (Also, we found that the mention of her name had a magical effect at the Rotorua museum, which is maybe a whole other story.) Breakfast was fabulous. The grounds around the house are fabulous. Christine was so helpful, she knows where everything is, the best things to do, and she made our visit such fun. It was so comfortable there. On top of all that, we had the best view of the night sky, which just about made the trip. Truly cannot say enough good things.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good; the house is up a long drive and away from any noise. It was dark and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The sign and driveway to Doolan's Country Retreat is very welcoming just like Christine!!
Christine made us feel right at home from the moment we enter her lovely home.Gardens and grounds enjoyed by all...Could have stayed for a week.Room very clean with a superior bathroom.
Christine is very helpful with activity ideas and any questions about the area. We actually had "takeaway" with Christine one night and loved every minute

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Address: 165 Dalbeth Rd, RD 2, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doolan's Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.