We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B with great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doolan's Country Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Doolan's Country Retreat to your Saves list
Doolan's Country Retreat
165 Dalbeth Rd, RD 2, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Contact Direct & Save
Ranked #3 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Tainan, Taiwan
1 review
“Fantastic B&B with great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are total 3 people, me, my wife and 7-year-old child. We think the shower with a hose is better for child to bath. Christine gave us a hand while we looked for the room with it. She suggested the Tui room. It is a very lovely room and we can see the beautiful garden through the window. Wow! it is a large garden! There are plenty of flowers, grass and tree. Besides, you can also see the rabbits jumps in the grass. There is another animal, lovely donkey, you can see or feed around the garden. It is fun, especially for little boy and girl.
In the morning, Christine made a deluxe breakfast, including milk, cereal, toast, honey, jam, peanut butter, vegemite, mushroom eggs...etc. We all fueled up the full energy! Christine gave us the great recommendations where to visit and play. Originally, we planed to play Zorb and not Luge(at Skyline). Thanks Christine, my son enjoy Luge very much and we played four times. Besides, she also suggested us to visit Rainbow Spring, museum, Agrodome, and restaurants(Lone star cafe and Fat dog cafe & bar). There is a "Splash" in the Rainbow Spring that my son loves it too. He would like to play it again and again since it is free while you pay the entrance fee.
Christine asked what is our next destination. We will go to Taupo next. Then she suggested us to visit Te Puia and Waiatapu Thermal Wonderland while we drive Tapuo since these places are on the way to Taupo. Moreover, she suggested us another place, Orakei Korako (the hidden Valley), near Taupo to watch the gushing geysers, hot springs, bubbling mud pools. You need to take the boat first then visit it by yourself. It is a fantastic place and no visitor group there. Christine is very kind to guide us where we can feed the duck (give us the toast, thank you!), where we can have lunch, where we can watch the Bungy jumping at Taupo and remind us to fill the gasline before we drive to Napier(there is no gasline station on the way to Napier from Taupo)
We sailed at Auckland, watched the worm at Waitomo, enjoyed jet boat at Taupo, rode the bike at Napier, and visit the museum at Wellington. But we can not forget is two days stayed at Rotorua with Christine. Thanks again, Christine, you are the best host. We miss you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
126
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gisborne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

As Kiwi's we have never stayed in B and B in NZ . I will certainly be recommending Doolan's B and B to my friends. Christine was such an amazing welcoming hostess.
I loved the home . the English furniture was amazing though out the house.The garden was amazing . Rotorua was so close ! Loved the views of the countryside.
Will definately be going to stay again . i felt as if we had been away a week . Yummy breakfast as well . Nice being introduced to the other guests and chat over a class of wine and a freshly cooked christmas mince pie ... perfect

Room Tip: look on the web page . all rooms looked inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I arrived at Doolan's Country Retreat just a week before Christmas and stayed for one night. We were greeted at the door by Christine who was so kind and gracious to us, giving us advice on places to visit and making us authentic Japanese green tea, then even went as far as to mail me back an item I had left at her house via overnight shipping (because of the possible Christmas traffic), refusing any compensation. In the house, there were very well maintained facilities, wifi, an amazing bed, and a wide selection of food for breakfast, including homemade jam.

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay Christine and for being so kind, I proudly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in the region. Thanks again Christine!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Quail room which has it's own little outside area with a table and seats, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed spending a night at Christine's Country Retreat. My wife really enjoyed the lovely rose gardens and the conversation. Breakfast was wonderful. I appreciated the free wi-fi so that I could catch up on emails.

I left my hat in a local restaurant and didn't remember it until the next morning as we were rushing to get to our next destination. Christine went WAY beyond the call of duty by retrieving that hat and mailing it to me in the United States. Thank you...Thank you...Thank you!

We would welcome the opportunity to stay with her again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I try to explore New Zealand by bike. After being very exhausted from the previous days, the stay at Christine's B&B offered most needed rest and relaxation. Although I arrived spontaneously, we quickly came to an arrangement. The charges were a bit higher than what I am used to, but totally appropriate concerning the very beautiful house with great garden and scenery. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Doolan's, with a great welcome by Christine, our hostess. Her home is tailor-made for the great views out every window. Whether you're enjoying a sunny breakfast at her great table looking down the valley at Lake Rotorua, or strolling her glorious gardens after your day of adventures, this country retreat was a pleasure. When we were there, Christine's grandson Todd popped in a few times with a group of co-workers. The lads were really a lot of fun, and we were so glad they were there! Christine was very nice -- she gave us some great advice about local attractions, and made reservations for us at the Mitai Maori Village. She suggested the Agrodome Sheep Show, which we really enjoyed, as well as the Wai-o-tapu Thermal Wonderland, which we took in on our way to our next destination -- it was amazing as well. Her friend Monica stopped by for tea, and she also gave us some great advice on places to see in Sydney, Australia. All in all, a fantastic, relaxed stay at Doolan's!

Room Tip: We were in the White Dove Room, which was very pretty, with an ensuite washroom with shower and a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful Retreat for a night, the atmosphere is sooo homely. Although it was only short, Christine had no failure in making us feel welcome and as if we were at Home. Our room we slept in was sooo relaxing and the bed was to die for, would highly reccomend the Quail room if you were to stay here. Christine is a lovely host, we played an exhilarating game of Scrabble which I never thought I would enjoy so much. She cooked us a delicious breakfast the following morning and then gave us a tour of the outside where we got to walk around the stunning gardens and had the opportunity of feeding the Donkeys. We would definitely be returning, this place is just irresistable.

Janelle R

Room Tip: Quail room,the bed is just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Address: 165 Dalbeth Rd, RD 2, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doolan's Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.