We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and broken” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gwendoline Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gwendoline Court Motel to your Saves list
Gwendoline Court Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“dirty and broken”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

cobwebs falling everywhere, wood broken round spa (dangerous) both my daughter and i got glass splinter in our feet!, no towels had to ask, no toilet paper renewed, massive cockroach under cushion on downstairs bed, stove filthy, no internet, no dvd which it said it had, ant explosion in kitchen, so all in all not a very pleasant 3 nights!! will not go back, oh on the plus side the lady on reception was very nice

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend at all and i am not that fussy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay

It appears your room was not serviced correctly during your stay, we have now put a new system in place to ensure that daily services are checked by the supervisor.

We understand that you had some housekeeping issues and we have resolved these.

We do hope we can accommodate you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    6
    14
    13
See reviews for
22
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I only hope someone reads this before booking this disastrous accommodation. The place was FILTHY. Carpets threadbare, toilets filthy, cigarette burns, torn curtains, infested with ants. Luxury???? What a joke. Other reviews stated this place was tatty 3 years ago, you can only imagine what it looks like now. Like a squatters den. Completely ruined our visit, and at $150 for the night, I feel ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in January

We appreciate your comments, and the issues you have raised have been resolved

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes it's a bit tired and needs a make over but very clean & spacious.
Everything was in order and the kitchen was well equipped, the beds were very comfortable and lovely and fresh. The spa area could do with a water blast but it was great to have a spa at the end of the night and we found it refreshing. Shame it was not mineral water but great non the less.
I have read other reviews on this place and was a bit dumb founded by them quite frankly, maybe we had one of the better ones ?ours was the one in the front closest to the road and while it was a bit noisy in the morning it was to be expected. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

The Gwendoline is a Great place to stay, and great to hear that you found the rooms clean and fresh

We accept some of the furniture needs to be updated and we are starting to plan and start a program replacing the furniture shortly

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A friend and myself decided that we needed to get away from all the stresses of Auckland. The temptation to soak in hot baths and unwind in Rotorua was just too good to resist so after some internet hunting I managed to purchase a really good accommodation deal thru Trade Me and Travel Bug. Well what can I say except for the fact that I'm glad I did not pay the full rate of the unit price otherwise there would have been a mutiny! On reading the advice of other travellers I did know well in advance that the units were old, tired and very outdated so I was forewarned. I found the unit that we stayed in to be clean but badly in need of repair. The shower pressure was pathetic, there was only 1 working stovetop hob and there was a big gaping hole in the roof which overlooks the Spa Pool and If it rains and you're in the Spa Pool at the time like I was you can feel the cold rain dripping down on you. The unit was not ready when we arrived and took an extra hour to be ready. The puzzling part of the early evening though was some woman in her late 40's I'd say banging loudly on our door asking If there were men around so that she could borrow their undies Ummmm, Eeeeeee!!! Apparently this women was part of a netball team and they wanted men's undies for god knows what, I shudder to think! Thankfully we had no men with us. On the plus side the bed was comfy, the Spa Pool was big, the size of the unit was rather spacious and since we had unit 9 which was located at the rear of the building we had a private carpark alongside our unit in which to park my car which came in rather handy as another resident claimed her car was not going (this turned out to be a lie) and so her big 4 wheel drive vehicle was actually causing parking problems for other people staying at Gwendoline. In concluding this review, Gwendoline could have great potential if it was upgraded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments

At the time you stayed we had a large netball team staying with us, and they perhaps enjoyed themselves a bit too much. I am sorry that they disturbed you, we did request that they would respect the other guests staying.

I do appreciate your comments about the roof over the spa pool, this has been replaced

We appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have stayed in better student digs. Curtains ripped & coming of rail, threadbare furniture/carpets, bedcover had cigarette burns in it, stained sheets & grubby walls. Was scared to use the kitchen brush to clean crockery as it looked as if it had been used to clean the toilet. Felt as if the business are happy to take your money but not spend a cent on upgrading or cleaning properly the units. On arrival the receptionist was too busy on the phone & waved me to the unit, didn't even bother to introduce self after the call to offer help or advise, so much for hospitality. We don't get to go away too often & this experience really put a dampener on our weekend away. We decided we'd never stay in Rotorua again. On the plus side, location is great for the mountainbike trails, & the cleaning staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We are dedicated to providing excellent customer services, but we clearly let you down on your recent stay, and we do apologise

We understand you had a number of housekeeping issues, which we have resolved

We do hope you return to Rotorua in the near future, as it is a beautiful city and has much to offer, we would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again and show you our normal high level of service

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We don't understand how Unit 4 of the Gwendoline could be described as 'luxury' as it was on the Wotif booking site. It is tired, at best, and actually quite grotty. I suggest if you are choosing the Gwendoline that you request a unit at the back, as you'll be further away from the traffic noise of Fenton Road. We were disappointed that the spa bath in the rather shabby courtyard was filled with normal water and not mineral water (as we'd expect in Rotorua) - but we can only blame ourselves for not doing better research. It would have been helpful if we'd been told as we checked in that you need to turn the tap to 'cold' in order to get hot water, and to 'hot' when you want cold water (!). The sheets and towels were beautifully clean though - the general state of the unit had made us wonder whether they would be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

Since your review we have moved to hired linen, we now have fresh, clean and pressed linen, we are sure you will agree the new linen is a substantial improvement.

We understand that you were not happy with the courtyard area with the spa pool, these areas are cleaned and the leaves are swept daily, but we have taken steps to ensure the manager checks these areas daily to ensure that they are kept clean and tidy

Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unit was very shabby, threadbare carpets, chair covers worn out, one towel has a large hole in it. We were there in the middle of winter and it was freezing, heating was barely adequate,the electric blanket did not work and a request to management for another recived no response. Kitchen was good and it was great to have our own spa even though we had to clean the leaves out of it. We went on a dicount voucher and I think that was probably about its real value.I won't be back and would not reccomend it to friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We do have central heating in all the rooms, to ensure they are room and cosy during winter

We do have an issue with the leaving dropping in Autumn, and falling into the courtyards, we are working hard to ensure we keep the courtyards clean, and we are now checking this areas daily to ensure we keep on top of this

Thank you for your comments

Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwendoline Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.