We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovely India

Lovely India
1123 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
07-3484088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eat here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a great meal for four adults, service was exceptional and the food was good with clean, fresh tastes.
Would definitely recommend. Definitely lives up to it's name!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    17
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We ordered the chicken tikka masala and were going to order more food after it. However the quality of it was so bad that we were off put. The "chicken" was very chewy, different pieces had different texture and colour. It felt like it was a mixture of leftover chicken, lamb and goat all in one dish. I don't think the inside of chicken is meant to look brown. The gravy it was in was quite pasty too. Curries also do not come with rice, and considering how pricey it is, it wasn't worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“tasty Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

the restaurant was very busy the evening we went, and food was good. the veggie pakora was nice. overall the service was lacking as the staff seemed somewhat bored and distracted...Being a veggie I had the veggie jalfrezei which was nice. the others in party had chicken dishes which were all good. Overall prices were reasonable but they charged a holiday surcharge although although we were there on 2nd jan .....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well Located Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Food was pretty good. We had pumpkin filled samosas, chicken tikka, coconut prawns, butter chicken (their specialty and very rich), lamb madras (coconut curry) and garlic butter nan bread. Food was very tasty and plentiful. The nan bread was outstanding. Our family of four couldn't finish all the chicken and lamb dishes. Only drawback was we ate on Christmas Day and they assess a 15% surcharge.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Who doesn't love butter chicken? We had to try it as the sign outside said 'Best Butter Chicken in town'. Although I did not get to eat at every indian restaurant in Rotorua, I must say the butter chicken was indeed very good.

Most indian restaurants have their own unique taste to butter chicken, this one wasn't overpowering with cream like you get in a mall, which I liked and I didn't feel like I'd gained a lot of weight after eating!

Rice is not served with the meal so you have to order it separately. We also ordered garlic naan bread, nice amount of garlic too! You will get bad breath after eating that one haha but I love a lot of garlic.

All up we paid $70 for 2 people, 2 butter chickens, serving of rice, 2 garlic naan bread, 1 ginger beer. That is quite pricey in my opinion.

The bathrooms were nice and clean.

I would recommend this place if you are not tight on budget.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovely India also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lovely India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovely India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.