We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was Excellent, Service could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovely India

Lovely India
1123 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
07-3484088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Food was Excellent, Service could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food was amazing, entrees and mains were all delicious and no one at our table could complain about the food. They had a children’s menu which provided the much needed chicken nuggets, so that kept the kids happy.

We were a large group and got seated at the back in the corner which was great because we could make a little noise without disturbing other diners.

The only dampener of the night was the service. We visited during Queens Birthday weekend, so the restaurant was extremely busy and they appeared to be short staffed. This was something they should have thought about. We waited nearly half an hour before anyone even came to take our drink and entree orders. Then we waited 50 minutes plus to receive our food, even the kids meals. They weren't very apologetic which did annoy us even more.

Luckily for them, the food was so good otherwise I wouldn't consider coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    17
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, good service and value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice evening out. Staff lovely with children. Had Royal Banquet - good value and good range of entree and curry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,india
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely North Indian Food in "Middle Earth", good Veg options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We walked into this place and found authentic tasty Indian food ( Punjabi). the place is well located on the 'Food Street' of Rotorua.
I would recommend their 'Veg. Sizzler', which has a Samosa and fried Onions served along.
the service was excellent. The chef came out and offered some requests for special food preferences.
We were very happy with the food and decided to go again the very next day.
The taste would beat many restaurants in Mumbai ( India) also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our B & B hosts recommended this restaurant and we were very glad they did. Best butter chicken I have ever had...and I have had some great butter chicken dishes in my time. The waiters were very friendly and the food was well priced with decent servings. If you enjoy Indian food you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had herd this was a nice place to eat. It wasn't wrong. Professional service. They told us that there was a delay in serving one of our meals and apologized. Water was always full, plates were hot when delivered and the waiters were dressed very well.
Food was very tasty. We ordered medium, which was lucky because hot would have been too hot. We have a palate for spicy foods.
I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovely India also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lovely India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovely India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.