We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food at Lovely India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovely India

Lovely India
1123 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
07-3484088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 154 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food at Lovely India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years on and off as we visit Rotorua. The ownership had changed from our last visit a few years ago so I was curious as to whether the standard was still up there and they did not disappoint.
We ordered a simple meal of 2 curries with a naan bread and rice. Both curries tasted different - yes I know it should be like this but some places we have been its hard to tell them apart- very tasty and the naan was excellent and very fresh. The staff were well trained I spotted a waiter re setting tables and picking glasses up by the bottom as it should be, not by the rim and the rest of the staff were friendly and efficient. If this was local to me I would be a regular so have to keep this treat for our visits to Rotorua

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    13
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed delicious and good value Indian food in Rotorua at Lovely India. The service was attentive and unobtrusive and all of the dishes we ordered were fantastic. Strongly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dinner at Lovely india”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Decor of the rest is very good, Seating is nice and open. Food is ok nothing that great , its like what we get in any other indian rest . good thing is the waiter comes and ask for how the food was . We were served and were given good attention . They should do something which will make them different from others.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Visited with my family whist on holiday. Had a lovely banquet, plenty of food, good price every course was fantastic, best butter chicken we have ever had! Naan was to die for! Very friendly waiters in a nice big roomy restaurant. Look forward to returning one day!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Kulfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice vegetarian curry followed by the best kulfi ever tasted. Staff attentive and service good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovely India also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lovely India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovely India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.