We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Indian Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovely India

Lovely India
1123 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
07-3484088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 153 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Thames, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Indian Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family of 5 dined on a Saturday night. The service was prompt, courteous and attentive without being intrusive. The meal was outstandingly good Indian food. We started by sharing a sizzling mixed platter - everything great, and followed with 4 dishes. All were well flavoured and appropriately hot and tasty. Naan bread was light and fresh. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    13
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

On this occassion we had a takeaway (take-out) from the restaurant.

The food was still superb. Very tasty and even in plastic containers, still presented well.

Will go back again.

Recommend chicken madras - I had medium heat and it was perfect!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our sports team ate here on Friday night and we all enjoyed our selected meals. They were absolutely divine. Would recommend this Restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had dinner here with a friend while on conference in Rotorua. Very helpful staff the Nan bread was fresh and the Chicken Tikka masala was Fabulous. I would happily recommend it to all.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My family and I tried this place in Rotorua whilst visiting there a few weeks ago, and were very impressed. The food was very good, the waiting staff pleasant and it had a nice, informal atmosphere and our kids were happy there. I am originally from the UK, where as another reviewer said, that Indian restaurant scene is generally of a much higher standard than New Zealand or Australia, where I now live, but I would rate this place very highly. I would go back here again, and take some of my British mates along too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovely India also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lovely India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovely India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.