We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost alot over the years” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Save
You added Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge to your Saves list
99 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lost alot over the years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I first stayed here 30 years ago. part of the charm of the place was its rustic nature. The place was well maintained, clean, tidy and homely.

Now: the unit we stayed in was dirty: mould growing on windows and in grouting between tiles. Vauuming not well done, utilities not clean. The grounds were unkempt and quite a lot of rubbish/ junk laying around. The motel office is a disgrace. Ceiling coming adrift, mirrors not clean ...
Bedding was insufficient for this time of the year.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    4
    3
    12
See reviews for
19
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I want to write something positive about this place but unfortunately I can't. The place is old, run down and filthy. To top it off the unit we stayed in was infested with mice. Understand that the owners need to earn a crust but this is a disgrace!

Owner, to his credit, gave us a discount when we complained but I would not recommend staying at this property.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We went for one night stay on this Easter Friday. To our greatest disappointment, we were given Rm 9 which smells strongly of mould. Carpet is dirty, sliding door is covered with green mould, curtains are filthy. We complained to the Korean owner, but he told us he has the best cleaner. Actually the smell was so strong that I started to feel itchy in my throat. We had to move to the next door motel at extra expense. And the owner of this Utuhina motel is not going to refund us.
I won't recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a shame to see what has become of this motel. We have stayed there twice in the past, when it was under the previous management (so can compare).

Part of the allure of this place was it's age, the specialty individual pools and the access to Utuhina stream in the hope of landing a trout. Now, under this management, only its age is apparent, and not in a good way.

Firstly, the rooms are dirty ... filthy bathrooms (grime around toilet cistern buttons, thick grime around base of shower cubicle and clumps of old dirt in window frames), stains on bedspreads, dirty dusty curtains, windows you could barely see out of ... you get the picture. The kitchen was in similar condition with one cupboard door hanging half off, stained & gray tea towel, one ancient sugar spoon served as the sole teaspoon and it had some blue gunge stuck on the back of it (!), nothing matched and the microwave was so greasy on the outside that we didn't even want to touch it to open it.

The balcony was dirty, unkempt and virtually unusable and through the ring lock wire the vista is of an overgrown riverbank which denies guests the advertised chance of casting a line for a fish.

Positive points are that the hangi box still works and the only 2 pools that are open are real thermal water and although not pristine, they are a treat to lie in. Having now read the other recent reviews here, it is obvious that the amazing individual mineral baths are not just closed for "the day" for cleaning but have been locked up for some time. Hence, the advertising is misleading and should be seen as a heads up for the rest of a travellers experience.

We came away very saddened by this most recent visit and have decided to stay somewhere else next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Two of us stayed in November for two nights. The room was large and clean and th hot pool was great.
However, the French windows did not shut properly, the kitchen cupboard door was broken and there was only one large plate and no teaspoons. We were given another plate on request and he also gave us a jam spoon to use as a teaspoon! The owner was friendly and helpful and willing to assist. We would stay again, but hope that some cosmetic improvements would be made.

Room Tip: Large, clean but needs attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

For the last decade or so we spend a night here to soak in the hot pools after a weeks trout fishing before flying out of NZ.

The new owners have been there a couple of years now and bit by bit they are renovating and renewing and it is starting to show the benefits. The staff there last weekend were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the "House" which can sleep about 12 with 4br's and 4 bathrooms. Multiple TV's, good kitchen/dining area and a mostly private garden and deck with BBQ right next to the river and outdoor hot pool. Good value for money and the place is clean and spacious.

Close enough to walk to town and big thermal parkland across the road as well as local shops etc. You can even catch a trout in the river outside the motel.

All in all .... for the price, it is pretty good value and as I said in the title - they are renovating and renewing and deserve some credit for that

We will be back net year.

Room Tip: The big house is great for a family or 2 or just a bunch of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I know that some of the other reviews are bad, but we've actually stayed here twice now for big family trips. The place is no five star hotel but it is what it is. The pictures on their website is pretty much spot on. The rooms aren't flash, but it does the job. Beds a confortable, rooms are clean. plenty of parking, and the ones we stayed in both had LCD tv's, and one had wifi.

Its a good place to all to get together, drink, have a swim. etc.

I think if they just renovated a bit, a bit of paint and repair here and there, and free wifi in all the rooms. get rid of all the cubboards, as you don't need them and then they don't need cleaning. then this could be a top place.

Would I stay here again. Definitely.

Room Tip: The two story house has better access to the pool. But the single 4 bedroom one has free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

Address: 99 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Utuhina Hot Springs Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.