We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Save
You added Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge to your Saves list
99 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed there for around a week, The wi-fi was free and not limited like other motels. The couple who run it are quite nice as well. It's obviously a budget accommodation option and the decor is dated but overall it's a decent motel and i would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    4
    3
    12
See reviews for
19
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Unit 5 had all that we needed. Keeping in mind that this is an old building, it wasn't flash but was comfortable and spacious and everything worked just fine. Our car park was right out the front of our lodge.

The 2 main pools were full and ready to use as soon as we got there so in we hopped. Meditating in these pools and allowing the healing properties of the geo thermal water to to just "be" in, helped my aching legs alot! Night time in the pools was beautiful as we float and look at the stars.

The 2 other smaller pools were being cleaned but were filled up the next day. Very private pools for 2 or 3 people - lovely.

Towels and toiletries were replenished daily with a smile :) The man at the fron desk was very helpful in confirming a Maori Village tour for me. A great stay ..... try the sauna too !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights there and booked for 4 people.
For the price. you can get so much more in other motels.
The first unit we stayed in, had a problem with the heater, it was like being in a sauna. The beds were uncomfortable, broken curtains, you couldn't close them properly. No wi-fi.
But the worst, the cleanliness was terrible.
The second night (because of the heater issue), we had been moved to another unit, I had hopes but it was as terrible. The unit was dirty, towels with stains and I found a dead insect in one bedroom.
The outdoor hot tubs are also in a terrible state, I didn't even dare using any of them.
The nicest moment was when we left. I cannot believe this place is still open, for people traveling from far, it is a shame to end up in this motel. It is a total waste of money.
Maybe it used to be good but when we visited they was nothing positive about it. At least, we have a good laugh when we think back about this place!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlette NSW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was a great Stay for us, yes the rooms are abit dated but they are tidy and we were informed by the owner he is planning on updating, the housekeeping staff were very helpful. Having the Hot pools was a huge bonus as anywhere else you have to pay to use them and they are included in your room price!! Cheap Accommodation would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Shame this place has been left to deteriorate so much. But it's clean and reasonably priced. Saved some money and was good having natural mineral pools though not the most beautiful pools they are not awful. The cooker was disappointingly grotty however so didn't use that. Would consider staying again if on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed there for one night. It is hard to find due to the tree covering the sign. It is right on the main street. But it is quiet and big enough for two. The plus is the hot spring spa. The owner is not very talktive. You have to ask questions to get what you want to know.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have stayed at these premises for several years now because of Raggamuffin. We have always had some sort of issue with this place but overlooked it because of the convenience of accommodation for a larger group and relaxed environment for teenagers. I can not overlook it anymore!!
The first year staying here I was quoted a price over the phone which I wrote down as this was going to have to be relayed to the other people in group... on checking out after two days, we were told it was going to be a different price (higher rate)!!! We did not argue too much about it as I had no email confirmation, only verbal.
The second year I ensured the price was correct on check in. Not too many issues that year
This time we are not even going to get to stay there as I have just been rung and told our booking is being cancelled for January next year (anniversay week end) as we are only staying for 2 nights (apparently there company policy is 3 days which was never told you us) and they have another booking for our rooms for 3 nights. Note we have stayed here for 2 nights in the past. I thought visa card details ensured your accommodation was secure. My booking was for 16 people!!
Do not stay here as the communication is very poor and prices are quite high for the facilities available to you. Very dated accommodation.. only bonus is the hotpools.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

Address: 99 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Utuhina Hot Springs Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.