We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solace Cafe & Restaurant

Solace Cafe & Restaurant
1111 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
07-349 1551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated a short stroll away from Lake Rotorua, Solace Cafe & Restaurant is the best kept secret in town. Solace Cafe & Restaurant offers diners a modern, warm and inviting atmosphere for relaxing with family and friends. Specialising in gluten free food, the menu is an eye opening introduction to great New Zealand cuisine, and features fresh New Zealand beef and seafood options. Bookings are highly recommended. Fully licensed and BYO. Open 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great staff, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff here made this place a gret experience. From getting us a dessert late after the kichen had closed, to chatting us and making us feel very welcome, these guys were great. The food was lovely and the 3 egg special was very hard to beat. Try it , you wont be disapointed

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    20
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUMMY but need more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went here on Saturday Night for a dinner for Two food was good but I wasnt that full after the meal and my partner had to get more food to fill himself up. Price is ok but i would think paying $35+ for a meal you should be full at the end. Food was very Yummy though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here for a late sunday lunch. Two of our group ordered from the breakfast menu, and two from the lunch menu. The wait staff were very efficient and polite. I ate seafood chowder, which was full of chunky seafood and was just the right amount. Everyone enjoyed their meals, which we felt were reasonably priced.
Would definitely go back.
Was very impressed by how many gluten free options were listed on their menu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food, little expensive ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had lunch here, fish and chips for $19.50 each, yes the service is good and the meal was well presented and cooked, but personally not worth the money. Two smallish pieces of fish and what looked like frozen chips sorry but over priced

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have been past this place many times but never eaten here. Decided to try it as all the other restaurants were busy. We were really glad we did...the staff were friendly and the food was lovely. I ordered the fish of the day which was snapper with tempura prawns. The snapper was delicious and the prawns nice, but there were only two prawns. My husband had the steak and it was cooked perfectly. We would come here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solace Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Solace Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solace Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.