We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway International Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway International Motel to your Saves list
Gateway International Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   263 Fenton St | Glenholme, Rotorua 1310, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

this motel is a great place to stay on a budget, the rooms were clean and contained full kitchen with everything we needed to cook, and spa, beds were comfortable,the motel is close to the center of the city, plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. we had no major issue with anything. we enjoyed our stay and would stay here next time i travel to rotorua.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway Motel.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome, comfortable and there stay here with us is as relaxing as possible.

Thank you for staying here with us at Gateway International Motel, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our booking was doubled up with another booking and a panicked staff member did not make us feel welcome like it was our problem. We then went to our room, which was not what we had paid for and had to wait for our room to be cleaned. The fridge was not on and the throws on the bed were less than appealing. Will not even start on the Mineral Pools. The phones did not work at all, and reception did not answer. The elevator phone did not work either. For the price, we could have stayed at a really nice place. This wasn't and was a complete and utter let down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Firstly i would like to thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway International Motel.

Since seeing you back in July 2012, Gateway International Motel had just undergone new management. We had just taken over and being a new business owner everything was new to us, I am sure you would understand a few hiccups along the way were unavoidable on my behalf because of this reason and it caused these issues for you, i agree the situations definitely could have been handled a lot better and i dearly apologise.

Our units since have ALL had some kind of major upgrade and will be an on-going thing, newly redecorated, new carpeting, re-tileing, full fresh paint jobs in our units, brand new fridges, brand new linin, utensils and much much more.

Gateway Motel is now maintenanced on a regularly basis to carry out any faults found and are dealt with promptly. We have more cordless phones which are kept on us at all times to ensure we do not miss any calls. We aim to ensure any problems our guests have are dealt with promptly and in a professional manner.

Thank you again for your feedback. It all helps us to help you our guests have a comfortable, happy and relaxed stay here with us and that our standards meet you expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway International Motel

Address: 263 Fenton St | Glenholme, Rotorua 1310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway International Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gateway International Motel. Now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENTOffering clean, comfortable and affordable studio and family units. Our concrete built motel is three levels north-facing. Elevator reaches to the top floor. Radiator heater and hot water thermally heated for all rooms. All studio units come with a spa bath or hot tub. The Motel has two private mineral pools for customer and a trampoline for children to play.Gateway International Motel located only 1minute drive from Rotorua city centre. 15 minutes’ drive from the Rotorua Airport; 3 minutes’ drive from the Lake side, 5 minutes’ drive from Redwood forest, Te Puia Maori village and golf club. Top one Fish ‘n’ chip takeaway shop in New Zealand directly opposite the motel.Gateway International Motel offers 15 self-contained accommodation units with at least one LCD TV for ALL units, offering kitchen facilities and full kitchen for some units. A refrigerator, microwave and cutlery are standard in all rooms. Each room is serviced daily. Owner on-site and on-call 24/7Laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, wireless internet and children’s cot are free of charge. Guest have free pick up from Rotorua Airport. Free off-road parking. Lockable garage for bikes, motorbikes etc. Ironing facilities, DVD player and newspaper are available from reception. Units 1 – 5 (Ground floor) Units 6 – 10 (First floor) Units 11 – 16 (Top floor) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Gateway International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway International Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.