We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Neil's Thai Cuisine

Uncle Neil's Thai Cuisine
1296 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is open from Mon-Fri 11:30am -2:30pm 5:00pm - 9:00pm Sat and Sun 11:30 - 9:00pm Phone number is 348 0066 OP
chittaway bay
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went here mid week and it wasn`t that crowded. The service was great. We had red curry duck and red curry prawn and sizzling sea food. The food was great. I spend time in Thailand every year and love Thai food and find this food very authentic. They were more than happy to pack up our left overs in containers for us to take home. I went there on recommendation from a friend who lives in Rotorua and eats there regularly. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Got takeaway from here on our first night! YUM! Not much more to say but food is GREAT! They have a dine in option but i was tired for the travel, the wait wasnt too long maybe 10-15min and it was easter Friday so it was busy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Don't let the name put you off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I don't know why it is called Uncle Neils. I avoided it initially due to the name as I didn't think it wouldeb authentic Thai. However, when it was recommended we found the food and service to be good. Authentic Thai meals of generous proportions. Was well patronised mid week.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good price but so slow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great place to eat in Rotorua with dishes around $14 - $16, but just be prepared for a long wait which is unusual for this type of eatery.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I read the reveiws and decided I would make my own mind up on Uncle Neil's Thai Cuisine. Boy did I get that right. Having spent over 5 months in Thailand over the last 5 years, I know my Pad Prik from my Thom Yum Goong.

This is authentic Thai food not dumbed down to suit the farang (foreigner). We ordered something that wasn't on the menu by it's true name but no doubt was there. It was Krapow Gai. We aslo ordered a beef and vegetable dish which was tender and the vegetables plentiful and cooked superbly.

Don't miss this if you love your Thai food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Neil's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Uncle Neil's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Neil's Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.