We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rotorua Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rotorua Motor Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   418 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent budget motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is advertised as a budget motel and that is what it is. It was great value for the $70 for the night. Very clean with crisp linen and comfortable bed. A small, basic bathroom with a good shower. Very nice new flat screen TV that could be angled so it could be seen form any part of the room. The best thing was the "Black Book" about Rotorua. It had places you could go to that were free for those on a limited budget but also plugged the local tourist activities. Tim was very friendly and nothing was any trouble. Also had free wifi. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is an older motel but suited us just fine for the night. It's across the road from the golf course and across a field from the Pohutu geyser which host Tim informed us would go off every 15 minutes approx. Comfortable bed, free wi-fi and kitchen for our breakfast Tim helped us book the Tamaki Maori evening event which we thoroughly enjoyed, especially our zany busdriver.

Room Tip: It was quiet during our stay in March - in busier times, you might want a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

First thing: this is a very basic, budget accommodation. For what you pay you get a good sized room, basic but clean bathroom, minifridge, flat screen TV and an OK bed. Plenty of parking too. Location is not downtown, but not too out of the way either. Owner is quite friendly. If a high-end place is what you're looking for, should probably search elsewhere. But if you want a basic place on a relatively cheap budget, this is a great option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We did read the reviews for this Lodge before we booked it but it really was a lot noisier than we expected. A clue as to the fact that there is a noise problem... earplugs are provided. The room itself was fine. Spacious bright and clean. IT was fine for limited self catering. It advertised free wi fi but it did not work in the rooms at all. Maybe if one were near the office it might have worked but not in the room. The owners were fine, quite helpful advising what to see. So if noise does not bother you this would be good place to stay but be warned it is very noisy with large trucks arriving and leaving all night right next door at a large service station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and frankness. We ourselves have been disturbed when staying in motels/hotels by other guests and traffic and would have 'killed' for a pair of earplugs at those times. It was those experiences which prompted us to provide them for all guests here. We are sorry if your stay was marred by noise. We are pleased to report we have invested in a very efficient new wi-fi system for the motel, and everybody is happy with that service now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we only stayed one night, the room is spacious and clean with a small kitchen. decent bathroom. no internet and a bit noisy for the gas station next door, in general needs a renovation but for a short stay it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Rotorua Motor lodge for 8 days just recently and it was absolutely worth what we paid for. There was 6 adults so we had 2 studio rooms which were cleaned everyday. Fresh towels everyday and the owners were friendly as and very lovely people. I will def recommend this accommodation to others out there. If we ever need accommodation we will look them up for sure

Room Tip: Just let reception know what you need and they will help you the best they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Rooms 25, 26, and 17. We were on a school camp, and overall impressed with the quality of the rooms and the cheap prices. Our students enjoyed the experience of staying in a motel, and were delighted to come home each day to fresh towels and sheets. The rooms were nice and clean, simply furnished, but perfectly adequate for our requirements. The pool and spa were great; the students stayed in until the pool closed each night. Despite warnings about road noise (earplugs provided, just in case), I slept the whole night through, and loved the comfy beds; I slept so well the students didn't even wake me with their talking :) The hosts were lovely, and very accomodating for our group; they organised the BBQ for our first night there, and went out of their way to find adjoining rooms so that our students would be together and safe. They also recommended "The Fish & Chip Shop" for dinner one night, and even had menus on hand to help us decide. They went out of their way to help us when a student came down sick, and even rearranged our day-trip booking to Hobbiton on our behalf. Also, the BP next-door for the morning coffee run was a lifesaver! We will certainly be heading back here for school camp next year.

Room Tip: We had rooms near the reception; very little road noise, and nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Motor Lodge

Address: 418 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rotorua Motor Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This motel has 26 rooms and benefits from a position opposite Rotorua Golf Club (Arikikapakapa), a unique geothermal golf course. It is a short walk and in sight of the main geysers at Te Puia, and a short walk to Whakarewarewa Maori Thermal Village.All other attractions are short drives away, such as Skyline Gondola, Polynesian Spa, Rainbow Springs, Agrodome, OGO, Agriventures, Duck Tours, Buried Village, and the Blue Lake. The CBD is five minutes, the airport fifteen, and Taupo or Tauranga 50 minutes.Rooms are spacious and clean. Prices put this motel in the budget category, but facilities are closer to four star, and these include large 32 inch LCD TVs with Free View in all rooms, direct dial phones and FREE wireless internet.There is a seasonal pool, hot pools and laundry for guest use, and DVD players and movies to hire for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.