We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabin confusion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park to your Saves list
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Papamoa, New Zealand
1 review
“cabin confusion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hi we had great service from reception re leaving for a appointment & having to move cabins after 2 nights, we had to move as the one we where in had been booked for our last nights i asked twice at reception if we could stay in our orginal cabin but they said it was booked, after moving which was a bit of stress, I wondered, why when we woke up nobody had stayed in our orginal cabin!!!!, which was far superior than 1 one we had to move too. why did we have to move??

Room Tip: cabins with a kitchen & shower tiolet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    37
    16
    21
See reviews for
72
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The whole reason we booked this site was to use the hot pools - upon arrival we were advised that they weren't working. By the look of the signs around the site, this was not new news, but we hadn't been advised when booking. Facilities were dated, dirty and insufficient - there were about 20 toilets in the ladies' main block but only 2 showers....

The worst campsite we stayed at in our 3 weeks in NZ. Shame, because the grounds themselves are a nice setting.

We did get an apology e-mail when we got back, but no offer of discount/refund.

On a positive note, good breakfast in the on-site café.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have killed a lot of cockroaches and we haven't even gone to bed yet!.... can't find anyone to talk to about the infestation because we were a late arrival. Our cabin is so dirty, has cracks in the walls and a front door that doesn't shut properly. If we could leave & get a refund now we would.... let's see what they say in the morning, oh and what the Department of Health has to say. I wish I had read the trip advisor reviews before booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Sorry to hear your stay was not up to your satisfaction. We are how ever a park surrounded by native bush and trees. Your cabin you stayed in, the KCabs are the older units which are tucked away next to fully grown trees. The park is the oldest park in Rotorua with protected Native trees which are marked by the conservation act as untouchable. Meaning, we can not chop them down with out permits. The Bugs are attracted to our native bush.
The Bugs you are complaining about are Native to New Zealand and commonly called Native Bush Cockroach.
Our property gets inspected once a month by Pest Control and we keep records of sightings in our record book. To date we have had no normal household cockroach infestation, no sightings of rodents and are currently due for our 6 monthly spraying, this prevents spiders which are also native to NZ building webs in our communal areas.
Pest Control took a look at the bugs you found and confirmed them to be our little Native Bush species.
These small cockroaches are NZ natives. They are found in logs and leaf litter, under loose bark. Most of the species favours damp, dark habitats. They are not a household pest.
our little friends are exploring there surroundings at present due to branches dropping with full leaf growth and touching the buildings. This enables the bugs to explore more then the tree.
With School holidays over, we are currently under way of cutting back our over growth.

In regards to other trip adviser feed back, yes we are getting bad feed back on No hot pools, this again is out of our control. Currently we are waiting on council consent to allow us to go ahead with putting in another pump to drain the water from under ground to the hot pools. While we await approval and pump, we are currently upgrading the pools with painting and new safety mats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and it was definitely the worst camp site we have ever stayed in. I booked this place specifically because it is advertised as having a heated pool and it's own thermal pools, I would not have booked it otherwise! Went to check in only to be told that the thermal pools were not working!! Honestly, did it not cross there minds to send a courtesy email or phone call to inform us? I was so disappointed after having travelled there to find that the main reason for going was not available. I notice from another review that other guests were offered 10% refund because of this but we were not! The tent area was not even flat! Each tent was pitched at an angle which was pretty uncomfortable! Far too many slopes to be camping in a tent! Also unable to charge anything as there are no powerpoints in the guest "lounge". Bathrooms were grim! Full of insects (I know it's camping but most places tend to keep doors closed to avoid this) also the main block had 2 showers in the ladies!!! I had to wait literally hours to have a shower at "peak" time. The heated swimming pool was freezing and there were no changing rooms that we could find. This was also full of insects and no chairs or sunloungers available. All in all a terrible experience, we will not return, ever.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked a 3 night stay in kitchen cabin via website that said double bed. Only had bunks. No fridge and very dirty room. Mattresses and pillows very thin. Daughter had bruises on hips in morning.
The one electric socket in the room was broken, burnt and dangerous. I am an electrician so I reported this in the morning - by 5pm that night nothing was done!
We had complained about room, the thermal pool not working, and no duty manager at the cafe on Sunday! We were upgraded to a log cabin and were given a key to it. Key didn't work and cabin looked occupied anyway. Were told it was wrong cabin to try another one, key worked but it too was occupied.
After much swearing from the staff who had no idea what to do the manager lazily said she will come and see when she had finished her smoke.
We left. Got our money back and found a 2 bed motel for $20 more and had a great holiday.
Shame because the park seemed very nice and we wanted the park experience not another motel.
Withe some new energetic management and staff hospitality training this place could be very nice.

Room Tip: For cabins - only book the Log cabins. The rest are crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We chose this campsite based on location (near to mountain bike trails) and the availability of the on site thermal pools. Only after we booked and paid for two nights were we told the thermal pools were closed for the weekend but the heated swimming pool was still available. We parked up our motorhome and headed for the pool. It was freezing. There were lots of groups of teenagers on the site making it noisy. The bathrooms were adequate. The washing lines were laying on the ground broken. So we went back to the office and cancelled one of the two nights and got our money back. The onsite café was good to feed the kids, while mum and dad got a spicy takeaway from town. Really nothing to recommend this site. The reception appeared to be run by teenagers with little knowledge or even interest in what they were doing. Our second night elsewhere was much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Arrived at the holiday park and found our room was double booked, lucky for my girlfriend we were
upgraded for our first night. Moved back to our original room the next night (deluxe kitchen cabin) and found it was a great size, comfy bed, all necessary kitchen equipment and overall fantastic room for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Reception at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
hello

thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed you're stay here at our holiday park. sorry for the confusion with your room being double booked but we are glad to know you were upgraded.
we are trying very hard at this time to maintain customer satisfaction standards and your reveiw is really appreciated.

regards
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without visiting Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday park Rotorua's closest Holiday Park to Thermal activity, Mountain bike tracks & Rotorua International Stadium. A great place to stay, with all types of accommodation including tent sites & powered caravan/motorhome sites. Surrounded by Protected Native trees Rotorua Thermal Holiday park is the ideal place to stay. HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: .... Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We have up to now been one of the few businesses allowed to operate within such a close proximity of Whakarewarewa - Rotorua's leading geothermal attraction. We regret that the process of re-design, approval and implementation of the geothermal bore is taking such a long time, but will ultimately be to the benefit of the guests of Rotorua Holiday Park and the local environment if we see this process through to successful completion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.