We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool to your Saves list
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The rooms are clean and the thermal pools are a great place to sooth tired or cold muscles after all the exciting activities in Rotorua. The friendly owners are very knowledgeable about the area and fun things to do.
My only issue is with the bed. I prefer a soft bed which this room didn't have. But I think this is a personal preference. Otherwise I love this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    97
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
155
153
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

After having a good stay 3 years ago. We decided to revisit with family over the long weekend. With family visiting from the UK, three generations took up residence in the amazing family suite. Between the 6 of us (6mths-71yrs) it was a bargain for what we recieved. Wonderfully equipped and super clean. The hot mineral pool was the highlight and we lost count of the times used. Everything else was excellent, location, hosts, local art, late check out and atmosphere. We enjoyed it so much we've booked up for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely setting with clean, well equipped rooms and the motel's own thermal pools, in a quiet spot not far from the city centre and close to a shopping centre. The owners were very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked the Malfroy sight unseen for Easter 2014, so we're delighted to find a true oasis so close to the centre of Rotorua. With so many Hotels, Motels and B&B's to choose from it is difficult to know where to start with this city.
The Malfroy is a quiet, elegantly decorated Motor Lodge, with modern clean facilities, wonderful gardens, and it's own mineral hot spring pools. Being very close to the centre of Rotorua, it is close to all the attractions Rotorua has to offer, yet you can relax in the delightful rooms which open out into your own courtyard style garden area.
The owners Mairi and Ron cannot do enough for you, are very welcoming, with a wealth of knowledge and those important contacts at the best attractions.

We will stay here again when we visit New Zealand. In a word excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

very friendly owners , looked after us well , my kids loved the hot spa , had great parking for the car and bike storage. good size even with five of us ,central heating so nice and toasty in winter .The owner supplied a wash area for the mountainbikes .Walking distance to the town center and a really nice takeaway 100m away . recommended and would stay again .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A quaint motel with decent owner/managers. Units are small but nice. Mineral pool is very nice and the other pool is sweet as well. The shower is a bit of a gimmick to be honest, we just want a shower that you turn on and off, a shower shouldn't Need a instruction manual and a guided tour by motel owner on how to operate.

Street noise here is a major issue, I carry ear plugs with me so instantly got them out after 9 pm when we could still hear cars going by.

Over all a nice motel, just a shame about the street noise and the need of a masters degree to operate the shower

Wifi was iffy and cuts out, but motel covers that by basically saying it's not guaranteed it will be receivable - a cop out in 2014

Probably won't stay again unless desperate

Street noise, small unit and shower marks this down to a 3 star for me, pity really, potential here is huge

Room Tip: Bring some ear muffs or ear plugs if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi CameronKerr
Thank you for confirming we provided you and your wife with good service, a nice room for your one night stay, and that you enjoyed our heated pools. However, the rest of your feedback is confusing as:

Our WiFi service has been fibre based since last year and has proven to be ultra fast and ultra reliable. When we met by your car around 10 pm that evening, and I asked if everything was all right, you replied, "Everything is fine." Had you mentioned having problems with the WiFi we would have looked into that for you. (We were full for the next 3 nights and no-one reported any difficulty with our WiFi service).

Being around 35 square metres our Studio Apartments are larger than normal. However, you did re-arrange the furniture in your room, and the way you did so would certainly have impacted upon your ability to move comfortably around the living area.

At the time you made your booking with us our Studio with a regular shower was also available, we provide photo's, but you opted to select the Massage shower / Spa. Not sure why you say we provide an 'Instruction Manual' for these showers - as we do not.

You mention in an earlier review that you are a very light sleeper, and in our review that you always carry ear plugs with you. However, you booked a property that clearly describes itself as being near to the City Centre and located by a roundabout - hence we get traffic going by.

BTW - You were not wearing ear plugs when we met by your car around 10 pm - and as is usually the case there was virtually no traffic passing at that time of the night.

We recall you did not arrive in the best of moods, parked in a manner that blocked 3 guest car parks, and went on to make a strange comment to Mairi about our being over attentive to an Asian guest - one who had come for a short break after suffering a recent bereavement.

Your review suggests that as a part of our trying to help you to be comfortable - ice provided as requested, heating turned on, 1Gb of free WiFi, extra pool towels, use of our bike store and showing you our heated pools - we somehow managed to offend you. We can only sincerely apologise for however we may have done that.

In closing, can we encourage you not to drive away saying nothing to your hosts, but to let them know when you have had a problem. The majority of us will respond very positively, as we all appreciate guest referrals and return business.

Wishing you well, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My family stayed here for 3 days. Rooms were clean. Mineral pools and BBQ area. Everything was perfect except parking. The entrance for car park is narrow. If you don't pay attention, you could miss it. Staffs were friendly. We love this accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Address: 51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our own geothermal re-injection bore, MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool allows our guests a therapeutic and relaxing experience by providing comfortable and affordable, centrally heated accommodation for Families, Couples, and Business Travellors. Our apartments are set in attractive gardens with local artists murals, carvings and statues, a genuine Mineral Pool (Spa), a heated Plunge Pool, Barbecue, and a secure children's play area. We are conveniently located for the fantastic local attractions, are close to Rotorua's largest shopping mall, and to the CBD where you will find a choice of boutique clothing and souvenir shops, good coffee stops, a range of quality restaurants and a number of lively bars. Come and stay for a while, and we will look after you and help you to have a great time in and around Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malfroy Motor Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.