We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool to your Saves list
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My mum and I spent 3 nights at Malfroy Lodge in March of 2013 and had a wonderful stay. We will certainly stay in this motel again when go back to Rotorua. Ron and Mairi were very helpful and their suggestions were also very good.

I would recommend this motel to anyone who wants to visit and stay in Rotorua. The location is also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Nasema
Lovely to hear from you, and we thank you for kindly letting others know how you found your stay with us.

One again we met some lovely people from Malaysia, and we are very glad to know that you were comfortable in your apartment and that we helped you to enjoy your time in Rotorua. You certainly had some very good weather for your stay with us.

We hope the rest of your trip went well too, and that it has not been too hard getting back into the work routine back in KL.
With very kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    96
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
154
153
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We originally were to spend 3 nights at Malfroy Lodge but we enjoyed our stay so much we extended it to 5 nights. A lot of this decision was due to our hosts, Ron and Mariri who helped us with sighseeing tips, restaurants and even booked an evening of entertainment for us. The room we had was clean, spacious, and had a fully equipped kitchen as we cooked some of our own meals on Ron's wonderful barbeque. Even when we had to leave New Zealand early because of a family emergency, they where so thoughtful and gave us a wonderful gift to remember our stay at Malfroy. Do yourself a favour and don't stay anywhere else while in Rotorura!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi ontheroadx2
Sometimes one meets people that are 'very' special, and it was our good fortune to meet the two of you on your trip through NZ. We truly hope all is well with you both, and that everything is slowly but surely settling down to being the new normal for you.

We really do thank you for remembering us back here in NZ, and for your very kind words. It is great for us to know that you were as comfortable as we were wanting you to be - and that we helped you to enjoy your 'Rotorua Experience.'
With our very warmest regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Its a motel, the accommodation is quite close to the road, and the parking is adequate if a bit tight, but that's about as far as it goes on the potential downside. It's clear that the hosts have put a lot of hard work into making what we understand was previously an average motel into something special.
Nice units, suprisingly quiet, very well kept garden space, spectacular hanging baskets outside your door and great service. Very helpful hosts with good suggestions on what to see, do and where to eat. We took their advice on a number of occasions and weren't disappointed on any.
It's about a 20 minute walk into town but if you don't want to walk then there is plenty of parking available in the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi VEROUK
Thank you for your review, for appreciating the changes we have brought about at MALFROY, and for commenting positively on the level of service we oprovide at MALFROY. It really is very gratifying to see that what we have built here can work so very well for our guests.

With the lack of rain over the first quarter of 2013 our gardens have not been at their best this year. Still pretty good as we finally installed a comprehensive watering system, but not as good as they are going to be next summer ;-).

We also thank you for confirming that our restuarant recommendations are still valid, we need to know that for our other guests.

We hope the rest of your trip all went to plan, and that you had a comfortable flight home with no delays.
Kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Malfroy over the Easter weekend and were really pleased we did. The hosts Ron and Mairi were so very helpful. We used their suggestions for dining and holiday attractions, and they were spot on. The unit was spotless and the bed very comfy - we slept like babies. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Donna_nightowl
Thank you for kindly taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We look forward to reading peoples feedback, and really appreciate their comments.

To know that our advice and recommendations is working well for our guests is important to know, as that allows us to help others in the same way. It is also very helpful to know that the apartment was as comfortable as we want it to be, especially our beds. That people comment on the cleanliness of their apartments is great encouragement for our cleaning team, and we thank you for that too.

If you are back down in Rotorua at some point, we would love to see you both again.
With our very kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I returned to Malfroy Lodge whilst on a business trip to Rotorua last month. I was amazed at the improvement since my last stay some three years ago. It has always been a well cared for motel, the gardens are beautiful, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and very homely. The whole place has been very tastefully decorated and well deserves the Qualmark four and half star rating obtained since my last visit. Ron and Maire, the managers, are friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful. It would be hard to find better lodgings in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi Jalandar 42
We remember you and your lovely wife well, as you were kind enough to talk to us about how you had noticed the many improvements since you last visit in early 2009.

We knew we had done a lot of work over that time, but there is nothing like having that feedback directly from a guest who has seen the before and after - especially when we could see just how much you both appreciated the improvements. Thank you.

We hope your business trip proved to be a succesful one, that you had a comfortable journey home, and that we may get to meet you both again soon.

With all our very best wishes to you both.
Kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The motor lodge is very easy to find, and in a quiet location. Its not far from anything - sights in town, a supermarket is close by and easy access to out of town attractions. The mineral spa is a real treat and so relaxing at the end of a day travelling and sightseeing. Motel rooms clean, well supplied and there is a good selection of DVDS to borrow! We were able to use the laundry and drying room which was an extremely useful facility.
The owners were very friendly with advice on things to see and do and even helped us plan our onward travel with useful ideas on where to stop on the way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Lynne R
Thank you for your top notch review, which we truly appreciate your writing for us. .

It is really great when people let us know how their stay with us went, especially so as you have kindly set out why it worked so well for you. It is good to know you were comfortable, and that our cleanliness, and what is provided in the apartments helped with that. Thanks to your input our Studio's now also come with a colander as standard.

The DVD library (now c150 movies) is proving very popular with families and couples - and our pools continue to provide our guests with a lot of pleasure.

Thank you for letting is know that you and Josh enjoyed the rest of your trip too. It was a pleasure to be able to help you to plan a part of that.

Hopefully it is beginning to get a little warmer over there, and you and Josh are still smiling about some of the NZ memories you now have. We close wishing you both all the very best.
With our very kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Reason for Stay:
Following lengthy drive from the north of the island we were looking for a relaxing stay whilst visiting the sites of Rotorua.

Location:
In a built up area of town surrounded by many other motels and hotels. Supermarkets and take away food stores in very close proximity.
Rotorua is not a pretty town in itself but is very functional as a place to stay and then visit the local attractions.
One is immediately aware of the sulphur smell but soon gets used to it.

Reception:
Provided a list of sites to visit and then came to our room to explain workings of the facilities. Ron also encouraged us to use the natural hot spring that there is on the property just outside our room. Whilst initially a little reluctant to use it, after an initial trial used it at least three times whilst we were there. Most definately a bonus for any visitor using this motel if, as we did, want a place to relax following days of driving.

Parking:
Available very close to all units.

Accomodation:
Bedroom/kitchen and bathroom very functional and clean and met all expectations.

Value:
We felt the rates charge were exceptional value for money. Unusually for NZ overnight stays internet was free utilising a provided voucher. When this ran out a further voucher link was provided at no extra charge. A much appreciated bonus for a UK resident used to receiving Free Wi Fi without conditions throughout Europe and the US.

Summary:
This was the first motel type of accomodation used during out 3 week trip to New Zealand that in providing cooking facilities did not discriminate - as did most subsequent motels - against customers cooking their excellent local produce - namely - New Zealand mussels !!!
In fact Shirley the proprietors wife, even provided an extra large pan to me. Much appreciated and hence my maximum rating.
Arrived weary - departed relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hi HighburyCheshire
What a fantastic review, and so clearly set out too. Thank you so very much for kindly taking the time to let people know all about your stay with us, and how comfortable you were here.

It is truly encouraging to know that your very first Motel experience in New Zealand went so well for you - especially as you have travelled quite a bit and know what to expect and what is not right. Certainly makes us feel good about what we have done and how we look to help our guests to enjoy their stay with us. Thank you.

We do remember your cooking the fresh green lipped mussels in wine and herbs, and then adding some cream at the end. Others have now tried the recipe too, and they all say the same - 'Simply Delicious.'

We hope the rest of your trip around NZ and Aus fully met your expectations, and that you were delivered back to the UK in comfort, without any stress, and with all of your luggage.

We close wishing you both all the very best.
With our very kind regards, Mairi and Ron

Mairi to Ron 'Who is this Shirley our guests are suddenly meeting?'

Ron to Mairi 'I have no idea but will have a good look around shortly. Maybe somene did not want to leave and is hiding here ;-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Address: 51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our own geothermal re-injection bore, MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool allows our guests a therapeutic and relaxing experience by providing comfortable and affordable, centrally heated accommodation for Families, Couples, and Business Travellors. Our apartments are set in attractive gardens with local artists murals, carvings and statues, a genuine Mineral Pool (Spa), a heated Plunge Pool, and a children's play area. We are conveniently located for the fantastic local attractions, are close to Rotorua's largest shopping mall, and to the CBD where you will find a choice of boutique clothing and souvenir shops, good coffee stops, a range of quality restaurants and a number of lively bars. Come and stay for a while, and we will look after you and help you to have a good time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malfroy Motor Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.