We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool to your Saves list
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Winter Discount
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Treated Like Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This review is long overdue, as we visited at the end of December. My wife, 1-year old daughter and I stayed for three nights but wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived to our final farewell, Ron and Mairi treated us like family and made our stay in Rotorua an unforgettable one.

We stayed in Room #3 (2 bedroom apartment) and had more than enough room to spread out. The 2nd bedroom was perfect for our daughter, as it allowed us to relax with a bottle of wine after she went to bed and we didn't need to worry about waking her up. The kitchen came fully equipped to cook, though we more often took Ron's recommendations for local restaurants (all were good!). The bed was really comfortable and we all got some of the best sleep of our entire trip.

The gardens around the lodge are truly stunning and, together with the mineral thermal and hot plunge pools, made for a really relaxing place to spend time in after a day of sight-seeing. The Malfroy Motor Lodge is a perfect place for those with young kids, as it is not only convenient to town but also offers a small garden/play area. Between that, the plunge pool and picking Mairi's flowers, my daughter was in heaven!

Thanks to Ron and Mairi for a wonderful stay. We truly enjoyed your lodge and your company. We certainly look forward to staying with you again the next time we find ourselves in Rotorua!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Well hello StrudelMonkey
Lovely to hear from you, and to read that you were as happy with your stay in Rotorua as we were hoping you would be. Thank you for remembering us and writing such a lovely review.

It is great to know that you found you had all you needed in your apartment, including the kitchenware that we provide, and that you found the beds to be so comfortable that you all slept very well.

The gardens, pools, and play area do help to make MALFROY a little different from most other Motels - and it is especially good for those with little ones such as your lovely daughter. Since you left we have had two more murals painted - and so the peoperty is just that little bit nicer for our guests.

We hope you had a comfortable flight home, without any ear problems for your daughter, and that the job continues to stimulate the grey matter. One can only wonder where you will be going to next.
With our very best wishes and kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    108
    24
    0
    2
See reviews for
174
161
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a studio with massage shower. The owners, Mairi and Ron, are wonderful people and provided some excellent advice on what to see. We had the apartment closest to the reception office and it was very clean, well equipped, quite spacious and with a comfy bed. There is a BBQ area, a small thermally heated pool and another smaller but warmer thermal pool. Be prepared, the pool water is a bit smelly but seriously it is not bad and you get used to it. After a long day sightseeing it is very relaxing just soaking in the warm water. We did not have any smell in our room and we had all windows and the back door open most of the time. The motel is located on the corner of two reasonably busy streets and upon arrival we thought traffic noise may be an issue but we certainly did not notice it, in fact at night it was quiet. Location is central to everything and it is an easy 10 minute walk to the main shopping area. This motel is great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi bill_chris
It is really good of you to write such a kind and encouraging review of your stay with us.

Reviews like yours (and all the others since mid-December) really do encourage us to continue to manage the business in the way that we are - as you are all telling us that it works for you; our guests. Thank you.

Yes, the Mineral Pool is by nature smelly - and as you have noted very therapeutic too. We have seen some amazing results for people with joint ailments, aching muscles, and those recovering from hip and knee replacements. Does not work for everyone unfortunately, but over 95% get a really nice surprise.

It was also good to see you both benefitting so much from the Irish Masseuse we bring in for our guests. She is proving to be 'very' good, and also reasonably priced.

Thank you again, we close wishing you both a great 2013.
With our very best regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just spent 6 days at this motel. The owners Ron and Mairie from the very start were first class providing us with excellent information about the area. The lodge itself is set in very picturesque grounds and has thermal pools which are lovely to relax in. The room we had was very spacious clean (spotless) with a very comfortable bed and settee. I felt that the owners spend their whole time ensuring that guests are fully looked after. The bathroom and linen therein was also first class. The best thing we can say is that if and when we return to Rotorua we will be very disappointed if we cannot book at the Malfroy, Location was excellent .
John and Maureen Croker. England

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi John_Crocker
How lovely to hear from you and Maureen so shortly after leaving us in sunny Rotorua - and what an absolutely glorious review it is too. Thank you.

We also thank you so very much for raising the key points you have commented on for our other readers to note - our Studio apartments are spacious, clean and comfortable, with great linen and towelling, has a very comfortable bed and sofa, and that although located by a roundaboiut and being near to the City Centre it is not noisy at night. Our housekeeper also appreciated your noting she and her team left the apartment spotless - and the kind gift you left for them.

We would most definately be very pleased to see you should you be over in Rotorua again at some point in the future.

In the interim, we wish you both all the very best for 2013. May it be a fantastic year for you both.
With our very kindest rgards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

friendly, welcoming...and very knowledgeable on local attractions/activities etc, based on guest feedback and personal experience. Thank you Mairi and Ron for helping us make the most of our time in Rotorua - and beyond. In a place FULL of motels, yours is a little oasis of calm and cosiness

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi bmeup (Scotty?)
Great name and a great review - thank you for kindly taking the time to let others know that you enjoyed your stay with us in Rotorua.

We enjoy helping people make decisions about what to see and do based upon curent feedback from our other guests - rather than relying on a book written on info gathered at least 12 months ago. It gives us great pleasure to see that our guests are enjoying themselves while they are in Rotorua - which has so much to offer that just about everyone can have a really great couple or three days here.

We hope the rest of your trip went well too, and that you had a comfortable journey back to WA - where we can see it is getting to be quite warm again!
With our very kind regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place is awesome. The managers are really kind, the location is great, just 20 mins away from the city centre. Oh, and did I mention the place has its own thermal pool ? If you travel with your kids, do not hesitate to ask for the treasure hunt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Sylvain V
Thank you for remembering us so nicely, and for taking the time to write such a positive review of your time with us. It is eally appreciated, as we love to hear we have been succesful in helping our guests have a great stay in Rotorua.

It was good to see you and the visiting parents from France enjoying our pools each day. As you said at the time - they are rather special. It was also lovely to see the two of you going around doing our treasure hunt - we hope you both enjoyed the lollipops!

We thank you again for the kind review, and wish you both all the very best for your time in Chistchuch. If you are up this way in the future we would love to see you both again.
With our Very Best Regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Taking this time to review MALFROY motel in Rotorua for an outstanding customer service and accommodation. Anyone can easily stay more than one night. We had a wonderful rest - full 8 hours for once in the last 5 days traveling. We stayed in several hotels all over NZ north island. We were in for a short holiday but the only holiday experience we had was in Malfroy lodge. Our hectic schedule was stressful - looking up where to go and where to eat. The hosts, Mairi and Ron were very helpful in giving us restaurant tips around Rotorua. They recommended the Indian restaurant - Indian Starr which was excellent. Their motel has 2 lovely mineral pools and private spa. I particularly loved the unique gardens - flowers, wall paintings and sculptures, each with their own stories. It was not just accommodation - it was an entire experience. Our room was next to the indian bean tree which had beautiful full leaves for summer. We enjoyed having a coffee just admiring it. It felt like we were so close to nature yet warm inside the motel rooms. That's a big difference compared to other motels which I feel trapped in a box. In Malfroy, I can look out and see gardens. The highlight of my stay is the full 8 hours sleep I cherished. The sheets were clean and fresh, the bed was comfortable. The place was very peaceful. I woke up not due to my nature themed smart phone alarm but due to actual birds chirping :) lovely experience. We are grateful!
This time in Rotorua, I didn't smell the famous Rotorua breeze. Wondering why.

Room Tip: Stay for more than 1 night. It's all worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Ella K
What an absolutely fantastic review - thank you so much for sharing that for others to read.

We are very happy with the way MALFROY is now, and it is really heartwarming to read that our guests appreciate the latest changes we have made, and are really enjoying their experience of staying with us. The new murals that you admired are attracting quite a bit of comment, and we shall have a third one in place by the end of January.

Yes, we agree that with the new linen, quilts and mattress toppers we we have some of the most comfortable beds in the country. Glad they worked so well for you and your partner.

Thank you again. We hope to see you both again soon, and that in the interim Wanganui is kind to you both and your new business venture.
With our very best regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our hosts, Ron and Mairi, were very welcoming and helpful. This is our second visit and we think it is great for families on holiday. Close to attractions, very comfortable, plenty of space for families and attractive with landscaping/hanging baskets. Good takeaway shop nearby. We appreciated the new addition of the DVD library. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiandRon, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Auck M
We really appreciate your taking the time to write such a positive review for us. Thank you.

It is great to know that what we are providing in our apartments can work so well for families, that the advice we offer is so helpful, and that the gardens are helping to make our guests feel comfortable here.

We are glad that the DVD library is proving to be so popular too - and we have just added all 22 James Bond movies to the collection!

We close thanking you again, and we look forward to seeing you and your very happy children again soon. Maybe with your Brother's family too.
Our Kindest regards, Mairi & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Address: 51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our own geothermal re-injection bore, MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool allows our guests a therapeutic and relaxing experience by providing comfortable and affordable, centrally heated accommodation for Families, Couples, and Business Travellors. Our apartments are set in attractive gardens with local artists murals, carvings and statues, a genuine Mineral Pool (Spa), a heated Plunge Pool, Barbecue, and a secure children's play area. We are conveniently located for the fantastic local attractions, are close to Rotorua's largest shopping mall, and to the CBD where you will find a choice of boutique clothing and souvenir shops, good coffee stops, a range of quality restaurants and a number of lively bars. Come and stay for a while, and we will look after you and help you to have a great time in and around Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malfroy Motor Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.