We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay- will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   14 Okona Cresent | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay- will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights. The owners are very charming and helpful. Our one bedroom cabin was immaculate with plenty of room for 2-3 people. You can't beat the location on the stream with a nice walkway all the way down to the lake. We had a lovely time and will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastigns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. We were in Rotorua for 3 birthdays and had taken up most of the lodge. We were as difficult as could be but Michael had the most patience for us. The park was well maintained and very child friendly. The kids absolutely loved it from playing on the playground and tramp right down to the games/entertainment room and being able to kayak down to the lake for free. Wasn't a long drive to Rotorua only 5-10 minutes away. We also had people that came in late one night that were also able to be catered for. Our rooms were excellent always heated(as we were there in the winter). Kitchen facilities were perfect which we also were allowed to have a little family doo in. I would recommend this place to anybody who would love peace and quiet but also some outdoor activities for the kids. Very worthwhile and can't wait to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff were warm and welcoming every second of the day, morning, noon and night which is great for a single traveller. The facilities are excellently maintained, you can see there's effort and care used. I'd happily stay here again if I were passing through

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for one night. We arrived and were able to check in around 11am in the morning and were given a tent site right on the stream. We were able to park our car right next to our tent on the site. We took advantage of the laundry and the free hot showers. We also went on a nice kayak trip out to the lake and upstream. The water was cold, even in the summer so be prepared for that. It was not that far of a drive into Rotorua and I would stay again due to the facilities offered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with a friend in a campervan for a night. Michael at the reception was very welcoming and friendly. Location is a bit off cenyral rotorua (15 min drive) but the park was well maintained. Bathroom was clean and hot shower and hair dryer were of no extra charge. Kitchen was equipped with cooking and eating utensils. I was also told that we could use the kayaks for free but we had to take off the next morning. I had a pleasant stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My daughter, 15yrs old and I stayed here from 1st to 4th April 2013. We had a budget twin room. Was very clean throughout the whole park. We arrived very early but our room was ready and they had no problem with us moving in. The owners couldn't do enough to help, we were given a guest information sheet, shown around and to our room. If we had any queries they were happy to help. Shared tv room, games facilities and kitchen and bathroom facilities but were of excellent condition and cleanliness. (free showers unlike a lot of places) not to far from the gorgeous, peaceful lake. Fishing down on the stream or using the free kayaks. Quiet eve's too but not to far for a short taxi ride into rotorua for a night out or to visit the local attractions during the day with your family of which there is quite a lot. And lots of lovely free walks too. Overall if I ever come back to this part if the world it's the only place I will stay! Didnt want to leave. It was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I returned to Waiteti (once again) to relax and enjoy the fishing, hoping that the friendly welcoming atmosphere we remembered from previous visits would be as enjoyable as ever. We were not disappointed, thanks Michael and Jeanette for being perfect hosts.
The communal facilities, kitchen, shower/toilet block, are the best equipped and cleanest we have found anywhere in our travels. Great fishing too. Hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park

Address: 14 Okona Cresent | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.