We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Central Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Rotorua Central Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rotorua Central Backpackers
1076 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty lodging in Rotorua
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A brilliant hostel hidden in the middle of the city(town?), proper beds instead of bunk beds, plenty of parking even in the middle of the city and the owners were very friendly.

The social areas are comfortable enough, it was nice to be able to sit around and relax watching proper TV. The kitchen was well equipped and not too busy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
20
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's a good hostel. It has a clean kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms. Well located in the center of the town. Free wifi is missing. We can recommend this hostel.

Blablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablabla (for the 200 character minimum).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, victoria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for only one night, but a great impression was made. The owner/manager at reception was very friendly and drew us a great map of town and an showed us an intro walk around Rotorua. Clean, comfy bed. Nice kitchen and lounge. Very central location - close to the Polynesian spa, museum, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. The hostel is in a good location, walking distance from CBD. The staff were very helpful and willing to help out wherever they can. Dorm rooms are spacious. Internet is cheap. Kitchen was large and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The kitchen was well equipped. Cheap internet was available. The spa pool was lovely, a tiled pool at just the right temperature. The rooms were comfortable and quiet for a good night's sleep. All you need for an excellent stay in Rotovegas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed three nights in a double private. The room was spacious and well equipped, though we discovered that the walls weren't very thick which only disturbed us to some degree in the late evening. The place was quiet in the night and although it's located right in the city centre with the police station right across, we never felt that we were deprived of sleep. The kitchen was all right and so was the laundry room, though there's only one clothes dryer. There's a "spa" which is basically a hot pool where you can soak and loosen up after a long day's adventure, which we found really enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, happily answering any questions we might have and booking an excursion for us. Internet access is very cheap, however there were some problems getting online from time to time. All in all we had a good time staying at RCB and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Some double bedrooms are upstairs just above the tv lounge and the kitchen where groups of people te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A friend recommended me this place and I very much enjoyed my stay there.

Internet is cheap, beds are very comfortable (no bunk beds), everything is clean and all hostel staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a hot SPA pool, BBQ and good equipped and modern kitchen. Central heating ensures that you won't freeze in the night even when it gets cold outside.

At the end I stayed in this hostel for 5 weeks in November 2012 while working. When you stay six nights, the seventh night is free. All in all this was the best hostel I so far, I can' think of anything which was not good. I highly recommend a stay in this hostel.

Room Tip: I liked room '16' upstairs (6 people dorm) and downstairs room '4' (4 people share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rotorua Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Central Backpackers

Address: 1076 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1930's character building situated close to the CBD of Rotorua. We offer a range of room configurations. No ensuite facilities, cheap wifi, large shared kithen, spa pool, thermal central heating in all rooms, choice of shower or bath, bed linen included. A great place to take a break! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rotorua Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Central Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Central Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.