We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lights Boutique Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Lights Boutique Lodge to your Saves list
City Lights Boutique Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56c Mountain Road | Pleasant Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Toulouse
1 review
“Lovely place in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We came from France for a trip around New Zealand, and we stayed 2 nights at the City Lights B&B during our stop at Rotorua.
The place is very quiet and is pure New Zealand: an amazing view on Rotorua with a warm welcome from Jim and Naomi.
It was totally what we expected from a B&B, a lovely room, meeting people, and good advices from our hosts.
The breakfast was awesome, a fresh homemade orange juice, fresh fruits and fabulous cooked bacon & eggs, sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms ... simply at demand !
We absolutely recommend this place to anyone that search for a B&B in Rotorua, this is the place to be ! For sure if we come back one day in Rotorua, it will be at City Lights !
Muriel & Axel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you for your lovely review - we certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you will return again one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
116
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

My first bed and breakfast ever and it definitely set the standard of b&b. Great hosts and even though we arrived late at night Naomi was there waiting to invite us in. Great service and very very clean which is a must. THANK YOU TO NAOMI AND JIM. A++

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2010
Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your first ever experience at a B&B with us. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Just that bit further away from the main drag of motels and hotels along a busy highway- arriving to City Lights was a breath of fresh air... Tasteful and thoughtful accomodation-sumptous beds and delicious breakfast cooked by delightful hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to do this review for us it is greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I sure go back for my next trip to Rotoruo. This is a place that you be able to enjoy your stay in Rotorua and experience the real Kiwi style of living. Beautiful view and very friendly hosting. City Light B&B will suite those traveler who looking for quite and peaceful lifestyle living.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2010
Thank you Kim for taking the time to do this review - we are very grateful. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We arrived to stay at City Lights and were very disappointed.
They are situated miles out of town and really the location in a place like this, for the exhorbitant price should be so much better!
The rooms were really small with no place to relax other than their own living room..... which gave you no element of privacy or chance to unwind.
In fact, we didn't even get shown the hot tub and in any case, if we had been given the opportunity to used it, this would have required us to sit in the middle of a 20 person family BBQ!!!
Not only would I never recommend this place, I don't understand why it has a 5 star rating, but it has also put me off from B & B for ever! (and I have travelled extensively throughout the North & South islands)
Really didn't enjoy the experience of either the owners or their property!
....Our $180 Nz bedroom looked out on to the bins!!!!
Lovely!! ... But never again!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Naomi - Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Firstly, our property is situated a third way up a mountain on the edge of Rotorua city (hence we get the beautiful views of countryside and the city itself), however, we are only 6km from the centre of the city (3.75 miles). We do advertise that we overlook the city – you cannot overlook a city if you are in it, unless you are in a high rise block.
We have a dedicated guest lounge with computer and we have our own private lounge and office in our private wing of the house – giving guests all the privacy they want. We never use the guest lounge unless it is to entertain guests and chat about their day or plans. We try very hard to judge our guests wants and needs and try to spend as much time with them when they want to talk to us or give them privacy when that is what they want. If staying in our B&B has put you off B&B’s forever then this saddens me. However, if you are looking for a lounge with complete privacy I would point out that a lot of B&B’s do not have a dedicated guest lounge and so you may be better off staying in rented apartments or hotels with suites in future.
We do not have 20 people in our family – there is just myself, husband 2 children (aged 7 & 16) and my mother in law (who lives nearby). We never invite friends over when we have guests but occasionally do have a BBQ for dinner.
None of our guest rooms look out onto bins – this is completely inaccurate. We only have one bin on the property as we recycle a large amount of our waste and this bin is located by the garage well away from all 3 guest rooms. The window this guest looked out of (Kea Room) looks over one of our paddocks and the mountain, it does not have the city and countryside views of the other 2 rooms, however, it is our lowest price room for this reason. Please see the picture (taken by one of our previous guests) entitled “Watching Alpacas grazing from our room” – this is the view from the Kea room – sometimes with, sometimes without the alpacas.
We would like to clear up any misunderstand regarding this reviewer’s remark about our 5 star rating – the rating she/he is referring to is the rating given by previous Trip Advisor reviewers and not our official property rating. We are Qualmark 4 plus Guest and Hosted rated – currently the only B&B in Rotorua with this rating.
We believe this review has come from a guest who had booked on a last minute booking site and was very annoyed because we would not refund them when they wanted to cancel one of their 5 nights stay, however, they did not give us any notice and it was outside of our cancellation policy as stated clearly on the website that they booked on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

The good points: Small number of guests means that you are unlikely to have to share facilities such as the hot tub, computer and gym. A real plus in comparison to some places. The hot tub was great. The bathroom was well designed with lots of storage space and shelves.

The bad points: Bedroom was very small. Although there was a large storage wardrobe with shelves, there are no surfaces to put anything on. It would have been useful to have been provided with slippers to walk to the hot tub as this was over paving - I ended up slipping on my shoes with my swimming costume.

Jim was very helpful and friendly. However Naomi was much less so. For example, when I had used the hot tub on the first night Jim had helped me take off the cover. The third night when I wanted to use it again Jim wasn't around. I said to Naomi I wanted some help later to take off the cover. She insisted it was easy to take off and I could do it myself. I was left feeling I couldn't ask for help. Yes I got it off but it was heavy and awkward.

There is a lounge for the guests to use. However in comparison to other B and B's we stayed it felt more their space and not a place for guests to relax in. As the rooms were small, the lounge is actually more important than in places with large rooms.

Overall this is okay, but not worth the money or the 5 stars. We can't understand the 5 star reviews on here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Naomi - Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
We are very sorry that Lesley felt this way and cannot apologise enough if she thought I was unhelpful – this was not my intention at all. I recall explaining to her how easy it was to take the spa lid off but did say I would be around to help if she needed it. Our guest lounge is very spacious and is purely for guest use as we have our own private lounge in order to give our guests a relaxing room with privacy to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We had a great time when we recently stayed here. Very nice accommodation with fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lights Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Boutique Lodge

Address: 56c Mountain Road | Pleasant Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Lights Boutique Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights is a new Boutique Lodge half way up Mount Ngongotaha overlooking Rotorua with spectacular views over the city and surrounding countryside, only 8 mins drive from the city centre. We have 3 en-suite rooms with all the comforts of home plus our self contained seperate 2 bedroom cottage. Our fantastic facilities include a guest lounge with computer station including FREE WIFI, real fire and heat pump/air conditioner, outdoor spa overlooking the city, gym with infrared sauna and Sky TV. Breakfast included with most rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Lights Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lights Boutique Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.