We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Unbeatable B&B"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lights Boutique Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Lights Boutique Lodge to your Saves list
City Lights Boutique Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56c Mountain Road | Pleasant Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“"Unbeatable B&B"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

You won't be disappointed from that great B&B. An ultra-modern furnished room with a gmarvellous view over Rotorua and the landscape and a great English style breakfast. Fantastic Spa, from which you can enjoy the view over the city ("city lights"). I would highly recommend that place. The best B&B on my 3 weeks travel in NZ. Jim and Naomi are wonderful hosts, thanks a lot for making me feel very comfortable and wellcome.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
116
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Without a doubt the best b&b of the trip (and we stayed in 17 different places!).
We stayed in the Tui suite which is lovely - absolutely spotless and very modern. Especially liked the little touches - great toiletries and two bath towels each (and husband liked the "soft-drop" loo seat!). Took full advantage of the sauna and spa, and the view over Rotorua from the spa is fab, as it is from the whole property.
Jim and Naomi are great hosts - we had a coffee with Naomi when we arrived and also spent an evening having a drink with them. They were really friendly, they recommended and booked a Maori cultural evening and also Hell's Gate spa, both of which were great, and also things to look out for on our onward trip. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Doing a ten day tour of No NZ by way of B&Bs. Jim & Naomi's place was the best of all. Perfectly set up for B&B guest stay = warm friendly hosts, ample room and en suite, TV & radio in private room, hot tub with view to the "city lights of Rotorua, and wonderful full English style breakfast. Able to catch up on internet made available to guests also. I would highly recommend!!! Chris, Sacramento, CA

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

In a town with plenty of tired tourist accomodation, this is an oasis of pleasantness. You won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We arrived a little later than intended, however Naomi & Jim were on hand to see us welcomed & settled in. A prompt cup of tea was just the ticket! The Tui room was spacious and very clean and I was pleasantly surpised to find that it was better than advertised on the site, we were to be taken care of but also left to relax, or to hop in the Spa or Sauna. We are definatley coming back in Summer for a long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

What an impressive experience - great view of the city, from the country, in an ultra-modern building. From our room we could see the city below as well as the Alpacas right outside our door. This is as good as it gets!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We loved staying here on our honeymoon...everything was great. The views were awesome, peace and quiet surroundings, we loved the farm animals all around, no sulphur smell and a great home cooked breakfast. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in and it was just so nice staying somewhere that didn't feel like a big chain hotel. The only improvement that could be made would be a bit more space at breakfast from other guests, but that is only minor. We were sad we didn't get to enjoy the spa but maybe next time.

If you want somewhere that represents value for money where you can really relax in Rotorua then I would recommend that you stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lights Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Boutique Lodge

Address: 56c Mountain Road | Pleasant Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Lights Boutique Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights is a new Boutique Lodge half way up Mount Ngongotaha overlooking Rotorua with spectacular views over the city and surrounding countryside, only 8 mins drive from the city centre. We have 3 en-suite rooms with all the comforts of home plus our self contained seperate 2 bedroom cottage. Our fantastic facilities include a guest lounge with computer station including FREE WIFI, real fire and heat pump/air conditioner, outdoor spa overlooking the city, gym with infrared sauna and Sky TV. Breakfast included with most rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Lights Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lights Boutique Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.