We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Vista, Rotorua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Hawera
1 review
“Bella Vista, Rotorua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would have rated this motel as "excellent" had the two lounge lights been working! Other than this small detail, all other aspects of my stay here met or exceeded my expectations. I saw somewhere that the Bella Vista accomodation can be compared to that of a quality hotel, but without the cost. I found this to be true.
Sue and Kevin are warm and friendly hosts, for whom no request is a bother.

The only thing that slightly marred my experience there was not the fault of either the motel or the hosts - major road-works were going on right outside the motel. However, this is a short-term event only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
73
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg i. Br.
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Bella Vista Motel is quite easy to find when you come into Rotorua, but it is a bit away from the town centre. That didn't matter to us since we stayed only for a night and had dinner at the Mitai anyhow.
Very friendly management. They opened an enclosed back yard for us to park our motorbikes safely. Well working internet access.
Good rooms and comfortable beds, too.
Somewhat noisy, though, since it is close to a major road. try to get a room on the first floor. Some of those don't look at the road directly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Bella Vista for only one night, but we were impressed with the level of service we received. Sue, the hostess, provided all sorts of useful information about the sights, and helped us coordinate our Hobbiton tour. The owners even kindly dropped us off at the rental car shop so we could pick up our car.

Although it was a walk to the center of town, it was neat to walk through the park and see the mud pools - what a great introduction to Rotorua! The room was new, and very neat and clean. We ordered breakfast via the motel, and that was quite good, as well. We wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

For our 43rd wedding anniversary we traveled from Auckland to Rotorua for a couple of nights. The Motel was a delight and the owners very friendly and helpful. We had a game of golf at Arikikapakapa and went up Mt Ngongotaha and rode the Luges. Dinner at a restaurant just across from the motel was superb - cant remember the name but the moteliers recomended it.
Rotorua a great place to get away for a few days. Had a lovely time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at bella vista rotorua for 3 nights, we were very pleased with our room, which was cosy, clean and comfortable. The owners were very helpful and friendly as well. Our only problem was the location this was situated in, it says its very close to the restaurants, cafes etc but that applies only if you happen to have a car, but for the people who are not driving around like us, it was more than a 20-25min walk from the closest eat-outs etc. Since we were there in the winter, those walks were not as pleasant in the cold-rainy nights, plus the road right in front of the motel is getting constructed and was all dug up and busy most the time. Our savior for dinner most the nights was the pie place and the Chinese take-out place right opposite the property - which was ok at the most. Would recommend this motel only for people who have their own vehicles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The place was comfortable and centrally located. Hostess was updated with most of the information required, and helped us with the discount coupons on Zorb, Gondola ride et all.

The room was equipped with basic amenities, but price was little more for a room which is small in size.

Loved the place over all!

Room Tip: Visit the Rotorua Lake it is soooo beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel is located on one of the main routes in to Rotorua and the morning traffic noise may be to much if you are a late riser. The room was relativly small compared to many of the Motels we stayed in during of NZ adventure but it was clean and with all the basic aminities you expect. Well laid out shower room it served us very well for the 2 days we stayed. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful, the standout feature was however the price

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.