We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cedarwood Lakeside to your Saves list
Cedarwood Lakeside
17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Warmer Deals!
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a fantastic long weekend at Cedarwood. Our children loved the pools, despite the cold and rain, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It was also nice to be away from the city centre - Cedarwood is very quiet and relaxing spot - but still an easy drive to town and all the local attractions. It must be wonderful in the summer - we are hoping to go back then and enjoy the lake in warmer weather. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Philippa12398, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Cedarwood. We are glad to hear that the children enjoyed the pools despite the weather! Cedarwood is certainly a great place in the summer with swimming in the pools or even swimming in the lake so we look forward to your next visit where hopefully the sun will be shining! Thanks again. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    40
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just spent a great week at Cedarwood. This was our second visit and we made full use of the spa and pool and our boys enjoyed the room to run around on site and along the lake edge. All staff friendly and helpful. A peaceful and quiet spot, with a short drive to all the attractions of Rotorua, highly recommended. Mike

Room Tip: The rooms facing the end rooms on each block facing the lake are worth the extra charge, great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Mikeandtracey2014, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Cedarwood, we are pleased that you made this your second trip! As you say, we are certainly lucky having plenty of space for the active kids to enjoy with the added benefit of the swimming pool and spa, thank you for recommending us and see you on your next visit to Rotorua! Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived at dusk on a cold, winter's night to find that the good hosts had already put the heater on. Nice touch. Friendly people, beautiful spot on the lake. Sure, it's a wee drive into town, but more than adequate place to rest. Quiet, peaceful. Value for money. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi MikeyJas, Thank you for your kind words after your recent stay with us & thank you for acknowledging the warm unit upon your arrival! We are pleased that you enjoyed our quiet, peaceful location and that you would stay with us again, so we do look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just had a fantastic weekend at the Cedarwood Motel for a family reunion of 42 family members. We had family flying in from Christchurch, Nelson, Blenheim, Wellington and then those of us that travelled by road from Auckland, Whakatane and Gisborne. The location is excellent - just 5 minutes from the airport. It is ideally situated for the family members requiring an adrenalin fix in the Redwoods and for those of us satisfied with a more sedate walk in the same forest on different trails.
The amenities at the motel suited our large gathering as they have a conference room whereby we catered for ourselves for dinner and breakfast. This also provided a casual venue to relax and chat with everyone.
The rooms are a generous size for families and the vista across the lake is beautiful. Nothing but positive feedback from all the family members.
The management team of Fiona and Nick were extremely helpful in the organising of this event.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi bellvine,
Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your recent experience here at Cedarwood, we were happy to hear that all of your family enjoyed their time with us at your reunion. We are certainly lucky to have the great Redwood Forest literally on our doorstep, which is superb for biking and the quiet walks too! We are pleased that you found our units a generous size and the added feature of the Conference Centre certainly does assist with group gatherings. Once again thank you for choosing Cedarwood for your reunion and we look forward to welcoming family members back in the near future. Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 5pm and left early the next morning so our 3yr old daughter didn't get time to make use of all the facilities, but she loved having a spa that night. Service was great, room was very clean and had adequate heating to make it nice and toasty. Would be an awesome place to stay in the summer for families as it has a swimming pool and spa, and a really good playground area. Nice location on the lakeside and not too far from town. A pity we didn't get to enjoy the view since it was dark when we arrived and really foggy when we left. Maybe next time!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi JMurrayNZ, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at Cedarwood. We are pleased that your daughter enjoyed her spa, it is certainly a nice way to relax at the end of the day! Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of our rooms and that your heating for the unit was suitable. It certainly is a great spot in the summer and we would look forward to welcoming you all back again so you can enjoy the views, playground and pools. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The cottages are on the lake front and the view of the lake is awesome. Lake Rotorua however is not a fresh water lake so the water looks milky and at times even colorful because of the topography of Rotorua. One can see ducks swimming in the lake and walking up to the cottage all the time, which is nice. There are however small insects which makes sitting by the lake less pleasant.

The motel is way out of town, which makes it a little lonely but it also means it smells less of sulfur. There is no good place to eat around the motel except a McDonald. There is a restaurant next door in the Wai Ora Lakeside Resort where we had dinner one evening. We found the food both pricy and lousy.

The motel’s insulation and heating is poor and made our stay in winter very uncomfortable and the people in the motel are not very responsive to the issues. It is also very frugal in terms of toiletries and tea/coffee arrangements. The television has 5 channels which makes it very boring for kids but there are DVDs available for free.

Not a motel I would recommend since it has nothing other than location to offer.

Rotorua is a geological wonderland and a must visit. The place can however get very foggy and flights are cancelled rondomly.

Room Tip: Ask for lske facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Wow, for the benefit of our future readers, I would like to set the record straight with your recent visit. When your reservation was originally made via a Travel Agent (who subsequently cancelled your bookings as they could no longer work with you), you were made well aware that we were an 8 minute drive from the centre of the city and a distance from the attractions as we knew you were not intending to hire a car, however you continued to make a booking directly with us. We did recommend that you may want to look at alternate accommodation closer to what activities you wanted to do however you did not look into this.
Your correspondence with us via email prior to your arrival indicated that you had not researched much about Rotorua and what there was to do here, we had furnished you with a number of emails advising what you could do to ensure your time with us was enjoyable.
Lake Rotorua is a fresh water lake, it appeared milky only due to the fact that we have had unsettled weather recently. The only insects we have are called a Lake Fly and were not present at the time of your stay, they are occasionally around in our summer months. Our units are adequately insulated and have the appropriate heating (and electric blankets) for the size of the unit. We believe we are extremely responsive to any issues or concerns as I am sure our previous reviews indicate, however your request for additional heating was only declined for safety reasons. We provide complimentary toiletries, tea, coffee, sugar and plunger coffee, these are restocked daily and we were only too happy to provide you more when you came to reception and asked for them.
We actually have 5 Sky TV channels and numerous free to air TV channels all of which were on the written instructions in the room and which was shown to your family.
Unfortunately you fail to acknowledge the service we did provide you in terms of providing you with numerous options for your day trips, bus timetables, information on restaurants, printing of various flight boarding passes, bus tickets and so on.
By the way, as we sign off it would be appreciated if you could return the travel adapter that we gladly lent you during your stay with us, this was not yours to remove from our premises. Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wow, what a find...hidden away down a very quiet residential street right on the edge of Lake Rotorua (Holdens Bay), yet only a quick 5-7minute drive to Fenton Street or city centre.
Have just spent three nights here in a 2 bedroom unit, exceptionally clean and tidy, well appointed and great views of the lake (even though this wasn't one of 2 prime lake front units).
The check in and out host was very lovely and most welcoming and helpful, thank you!.
Very spacious grounds, my 5yr nephew loved running around the grounds, playing on the playground, the out door spa (and an indoor one) and liked playing on the lake edge (bring your bucket and spade!).
Being away from the usual Fenton Street motels, this place is so quiet and private you wouldn't believe you were so near the city. There is a McDonalds about a minute drive away, a good Chinese takeaway a couple minutes away... you are still very close to everything Rotorua has to offer.
This is an excellent family friendly place to stay and has all you would need for a comfortable stay at a great price.
Now that we have found this place, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Todd M, Thank you for your fantastic review of Cedarwood after your recent stay and sorry we were not here during your visit however thank you for acknowledging our hosts who were minding for us whilst we took a short break! It is great to hear your nephew enjoyed the spacious grounds and pools. It is great to have some eateries close by however equally easy to get back into town a short distance away for the many restaurants Rotorua has on offer. We do look forward to seeing you all back again on your next trip to Rotorua! Best wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua, and is your gateway to the very best of Rotorua’s world-renowned tourist attractions and adventure activities.We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the International Airport, the gateway to Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarwood Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.