We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cedarwood Lakeside to your Saves list
Cedarwood Lakeside
17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Cedarwood via a Grabone voucher so we had a 2 bedroom unit although there was only the 2 of us. We certainly felt that there was plenty of room if we had been a family and the unit was very well equiped.
The location is perfect if you dont't like the busy main roads etc in town. Close enough to get to town easily but there are plenty of food outlets close by if you would rather not have the hassle of driving back into town in the evening.
The bed was very comfortable and the heating was more than adequate for a winter stay. We didn't feel the need for the electric blankets.
The shower was good - but watch out for any water on the vinyl floor - hubby ended up on his bum! Ouch!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Cedarwood to anyone wanting a peaceful break close to the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the end units that have a deck on 2 sides so you have an excellent view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Cockney40,
Thanks for taking the time to let people know about our perfect location! Yes, our two bedroom untis are spacious for families and are all fully self contained. We are pleased you found the bed very comfortable and that the heating was more than adequate, and good on you for not needing the electric blankets! We were unaware of hubby's slip however we do provide bath mats for the floor to minimise any such issues. Thank you for your recommendations and see you next time your venture to Rotorua!
Best regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    38
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

First time at Cedarwood, and we all enjoyed it with our young family. Booking was made for our young family, but our mums decided to join us, so we made a booking on arrival and ask to have the 2 units next to each other so we can be all close together. Our mums also loved Cedarwood. A peaceful beautiful location by the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Veronica S,
Thank you for providing your feedback on our location which is peaceful & tranquil by the lake. We were glad that we were able to accommodate you all in the adjacent units upon your check in and we look forward to welcoming you all back at another stage.
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were a group of one adult and two teenagers. We stayed in one of the lake-front units, beautiful outlook and very comfortable. The weather even behaved enough for us to use the Motel's kayaks - very nice!

The hosts were very accommodating and had no problem with us extending our checkout time for an extra hour.

The only non-glowing thing was that I was a little cold at night. My own fault though as I did not plug in the heater that was stored in the wardrobe! Perhaps slightly thicker drapes would be the go for those colder Lake Rotorua nights?

Great stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Argo2,
Thank you for your review of Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, yes our Lakefront Units are always our most popular for their great views over the lake! It was great to see you all out on the kayak's too! It is unfortunate that you found it cold at night, we do provide adequate heating for all units and electric blankets for the beds as comfort for our guests is important to us. We do look forward to seeing you all here again.
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When I booked this accomodation I wondered if it was too far out but it was perfect. Great to escape the busy commercial side of rotorua and return back to the lovely lakeside location to unwind with the kids. Plenty to entertain with the playground, pool and the short walk around to the local playground was beautiful oh and the dvd library my daughter loved. Handy having mcdonalds up the end of the road for the kids. Shame we didnt have a sitter so we could visit the mokoia restaurant at the end of the street. Thanks for the great room servicing. I found the bed a bit uncomfortable but perhaps thats because My bed is just too good? I found the bath towels annoyingly small and had nowhere to hang them but the door handles with having four on the go.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a glimpse of the lake but would be special to have the end lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
HI Suzanne W,
Thank you for your positive comments on our location & facilities on offer! Had we known you would have liked to have gone to the restaurant we could have arranged a sitter for you. In regards to our beds, we find it difficult to cater to all individual likes as this very much a personal thing however our beds are off a very good quality. Our towels are standard size bath towels however had we known the size was an issue for you we could have provided you with some extra, we have since added some more hooks to the bathroom for hanging these aswell. Thank you again for your comments.
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at Cedarwood Lakeside Resort a number of times over the years since our children were young and even though it has changed management a few times it has always been great. Wonderful location by Lake Rotorua (majestic sunsets), comfortable units for families in particular, and a nice hot spa and swimming pool (plus trampoline for the kids). However our most recent stay last weekend really showed the resort's commitment to looking after its patrons. My husband accidently threw out a small plastic bag into the rubbish that contained my 16 year old daughter's silver chain and earrings. We didn't realise this until we got back to Auckland and my daughter rang Cedarwood immediately to see if they might help. Searching through the rubbish would not have been a pleasant job - but miraculously the jewellery was found within a few hours and we were all so relieved. Thanks to Nick and Fiona for going the extra mile - it made our weekend away a wonderful experience with a happy ending!

Philippa

Room Tip: We like the units at the front because you have the lake right in front of you and you can watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Philippa,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside Resort after your recent stay! We were so delighted to be able to reunite your daughter with her jewellery so it was very much a happy ending. See you all next time when your are in Rotorua.
Many thanks Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We (2 adults + 2 teenagers) stayed two nights at Cedarwood Motel in the July school holidays, pity we didn't have more time. Motel is a 3 min. drive to the city centre, location so nice, right on the lake front and soooo quiet. Awesome pool and spa. We appreciated the recommendations of places to go and eat out by our friendly and helpful hosts. But above all this was one of the cleanest motels I've ever been to. We stayed at the two bedroom lakefront appartment, which was very spacious, great well equipped kitchen, good heaters and big bathroom and we just loved it. Free towels for the spa and free DVDs rental as well. This will not be our last visit to Cedarwood. Thank you Fiona and Nick, we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Karin G,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great stay with us recently. We are pleased that you found our recommendations useful & that you noticed the cleanliness of our units. Its great to hear that you will visit again so we look forward to welcoming you all back next time & perhaps for a longer stay!
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for only one night, we wish we could have stayed longer. It was winter so not many other guests were there. Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had more than enough room. We were right on Lake Rotorua and we saw a beautiful sunset that night. The staff were very friendly and recommended places to visit in the area.

Room Tip: They have an outdoor spa and pool that looked delightful, alas we had not time to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi FlashVirginiaUSA, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us albeit only 1 night. We would love to see you back in the summer, it is certainly a lovely spot right by the lake and is enjoyed by many travellers. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua, and is your gateway to the very best of Rotorua’s world-renowned tourist attractions and adventure activities.We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the International Airport, the gateway to Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarwood Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.