We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cedarwood Lakeside to your Saves list
Cedarwood Lakeside
17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Warmer Deals!
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Ruakaka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have just had a Family Get together at the Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort booking 6 units for the weekend starting 13th April. Ideal for families with plenty of grass area and paving for bikes and scooters. They enjoyed the swimming and spa pools and the access to the lake edge. We had a meal delivered for 30 people by the "Catering Company 2006 Ltd" to the Cedarwood Conference Room, the Conference room has excellent facilities to do this type of occasion. The units are of good size and well cared for and the wonderful hosts Fiona and Nic made our weekend very special.
Shirley and Roger

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    40
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here in January for three nights, two nights in one of the lakeside unit, and the final night one back from the lake, due to availability. Waking up to the sound of lapping water, and having our breakfast right on the lakes edge, was very special,The units were spotless.We found the owners very friendly , efficent, and most accomodating. They tried very hard to reduce any inconvenience when we had to move, and had the housekeeper clean the unit very early,so we just carried our gear across the yard and settled in well.This is a fabulous place and as a seasoned world traveller, would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were 4 of us sharing a perfect lakeside cottage. It is clean and well equipped. Located perfectly to get around town easily as well. Clean, spacious and more thany anything set in a breathtaking landsacape with beautiful view of the lake and nature. There is a also a common BBQ are and lots of space of children to play around. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Try and get the closest to the lake like we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We travelled from Perth, Australia for a week long mountain bike holiday and stayed at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort which I found on the internet. The property turned out to be perfect. Its location was fantastic for accessing the Redwoods for mountain biking. It was close in fact to most of the attractions and amenities in Rotorua. Its lakeside location also made it the ideal location for one of our party to train in his kayak out on the lake. Our 2 bedroom unit sat right on the lake with the most magnificent views of Rotorua and the surrounding hills. They offered a safe lock up shed for our bikes. The unit was clean and provided ample room for our party of 3. The self contained kitchen was perfect and allowed us to do our own cooking. Even though we didn't travel with our children on this occasion it was very child friendly and somewhere I would bring my children to. I would recommend Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort to anyone staying in Rotorua. It was fantastic value for money and we will definately be staying there again when we return to Rotorua for another mountain bike holiday. I have stayed in Rotorua on a number of occasions over the years and I would rate Cedarwood the best that I have stayed in and highly recommend it to travellers.

Room Tip: for that extra feature choose a lakeside view unit to make the most of the fantastic views across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in January 2012. The motel is in peaceful Holdens Bay, a short drive from the town of Rotorua with its geothermal attractions, restaurants and shops.

Our spacious unit was clean and well-equipped with the usual kitchen facilities you expect in New Zealand but no hotplates! That was a bit of a bummer but one evening we ate out at a curry restaurant in town and the second night we microwaved our new potatoes and grilled two delicious steaks on the communal gas barbecue near the swimming pool area.

I walked along the Holdens Bay shoreline one morning past lovely lakeside properties. At night-time the area can be blighted by clouds of trout flies - dependent on the weather conditions. These small creatures do not bite but they can drive you back indoors.

The husband and wife team who manage Cedarwood were cheerful and helpful. Of course that isn't always the case and it's nice to feel that your patronage is appreciated.

We visited the famous Whakarakarewa thermal village where Maori families have lived for generations. It was fascinating but though there are bubbling thermal pools in the village there are no geysirs on site. We also drove out to some of the scenic neighbouring lakes - Tarawera and the Green and Blue Lakes and walked in Rotorua's impressive redwood forest plantation. We also enjoyed an afternoon swim in the art deco and recently restored Blue Bath near Rotorua Museum.

Room Tip: Closer to the lake the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here with our 3.5 year old and it was a good pick. Quiet, has two trampolines, a heated pool and spa pool and a play ground and all this right on the lake. We really liked it.
The only issue we had was on our first night the [inconsiderate] people in the unit next door were noisy all night [not that we can fault the people that run the Cedarwood for that ! however this made worse by wooden floors and walls as all units are joined. Note that Internet is free for 100MB than one has to pay and its a 10 min drive to central town.

We would happily return. This is a very good place

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I thoroughly endorse all the previous comments about Cedarwood. You will not regret this as a choice. Immaculate.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are obviusly the ones to go for, but all rooms have a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua, and is your gateway to the very best of Rotorua’s world-renowned tourist attractions and adventure activities.We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the International Airport, the gateway to Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarwood Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.