We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical city motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rotorua Hideaway Lodge to your Saves list
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not your typical city motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent 2 nights on this unique property, in a 1 bedroom unit. Coming from a city, this motel experience was akin a country home we never had. Besides, Karen's welcoming gesture (basket of homemade muffins) was a differentiating factor.

The children loved the ingenious playgrounds and friendly farm animals. We fed the miniature horses carrots and were surprised that the dogs love carrots too!

The rooms are near the highway, so sounds of traffic broke the silence at night but hardly affected us. (If you leave the windows fully open in the summer, the traffic sounds shall be more obvious.) The beds were comfortable and we slept well.

Heating was very adequate. There is a heater in the living area, a portable heater in the bedroom and a wall-mounted heater in the toilet/bathroom - very nice as that minimizes the chill when you get out of the tub/shower.

The kitchen was well equipped and also has an oven that's great for warming Karen's delicious muffins.

Karen was very helpful with driving directions and accomodated our request for the children to have a ride on her dear horses. (The horse rides are only suitable for young children as the horses are miniatures.)

Overall, it was a memorable stay. Thank you Karen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
You are most welcome, great to hear that the children had a great time. Its great to know that the children enjoyed the horses rides and the ingenious groundround, of a kind isn't it???? In the meantime you all have a great year, and happy travelling. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Warmest Regards, Karen & Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My granddaughter was in her "element" at Hideaway Lodge and spend hours playing with other children and the animals - especially the beautiful Dalmations! She would have been quite happy to stay forever and a day! Karen was just fantastic, so friendly and genuine, a lovely, lovely lady. Certainly missed my beautiful surroundings when I had to come back to my "real life" in Auckland. And Karen, you will be pleased to know that Alysha now has a BEAUTIFUL PUPPY all of her own!! Thanks SO MUCH for a wonderful holiday. Kind regards, Lynette Mattsson

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Many thanks for the feedback guys, it was a sheer pleasure to be able to host you and your granddaughter, and we do look forward to your return in the near future. I'm sure that my Dalmations miss your granddaughter too, as they do love all the fuss and attention being made about them,
Warmest Regards, Karen & Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

the unit was clean and very tidy fully self contained if you need located not far from town center

we were greeted with muffins to settle in the animals are so lovely totaly fenced area for those with wee kids mine are bigger but still fantastic
plenty of heating and electic blankets heaps of blankets
we both loved it and will return in summer

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Hi Guys, sorry its taken a while to respond to you, but life round here has been very hetic.
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, it was a real pleasure in hosting you and your family during your trip to Rotorua. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Really family orientated stay, my two kids love it here, so much to play on; playground is fabulous, mini golf is great for kids and adults, and the animals are so friendly. Karen adds her personal touch and makes you feel so welcome. It is really great to be able to take our two small dogs with us too. Very clean and tidy. Easy access and a pleasure to stay here, we have stayed a couple of times and will only stay here when we visit Rotorua. Thanks Karen for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, it was a real treat meeting you and your wonderful family, especially your two wee dogs. It was great to hear that your daughter wanted to stay, but I'm sure after awhile that she would realize that there is more to the place than the aimals and playground, bless her. We trust your wee cat that you found is doing great these days as well. In the meantime, hope to see you back sometime in the near future. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here and this time we bought our extended family. They enjoyed it as much as we did. Karen is very accommodating and is a wealth of knowledge. Made some excellent recommendations for us that suited our budget. Definitely recommending this place to our friends. Very family friendly and our kids just loved it . Loved the fresh cooked muffins as well. Thanks again Karen

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Thanks for a great couple of days. Kids loved feeding the animals, it was nice that Karen made sure no one missed out at feeding time. Loved the muffins on arrival, and the room was lovely and clean. The playground was great, the kids spent most of their time there, the flying fox was a hit! Also great to have outside tables and chairs around to use and we all loved the "men" made of outside materials. We all had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge. Beautiful grounds for the children to play with a fantastic novelty park and lots of farm yard animals to interact with. Located really close to the main attractions and town centre.

Beds very comfortable, rooms kept lovely and clean very reasonably priced. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends. Hot muffins on arrival a nice touch. Thank you Karen and Lindsay for a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for a great family holiday … warm, inviting surroundings and great style accommodation, this remarkable and UNIQUE spot is Rotorua’s BEST KEPT SECRET...NO SULPHUR FUMES!! Kids will just love our ADVENTURE playground with flying fox, tree huts, swings, slides,seesaw, crawling tunnels, putt putt golf, petanque, and lots more. Plus everyone will love meeting our friendly farm animals. And you’ll all love our spacious, clean, quiet, affordable accommodation in a SAFE ENVIRONMENT, offering excellent value for money. Wake up in the mornings from a comfortable nights sleep to overlook the splendid view of our gardens and property. For those of you who enjoy a delicious, scrumptious continental breakfast in the mornings, this is available to you in our cosy breakfast room (additional cost $6.50 per person). A DIFFERENT BREAKFAST THAN MOST OTHERS, it will leave you with a memorable experience all this, and we are only 6 mins drive to town. SO COME DISCOVER US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.