We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to do this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcanic Air Safaris Rotorua

Volcanic Air Safaris Rotorua
Rotorua City Lakefront, Memorial Drive, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 348 9984
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 56 activities in Rotorua
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Uki, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You have to do this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently flew by helicopter to White Island with Steph as our pilot. She was absolutely wonderful and also gave us a very informative commentary. White Island is really something to experience as its in continuous eruption and before landing in the crater and after taking off we got to circle the island from above. Walking around the island and visiting the old sulphur mine while vents emit sulphur and steam was truly exhilirating. Its an experience I'll never forget and it was a picture perfect day. The team at Volcanic air safaris were all very helpful and friendly and even had a photo memento available when I got back which I had the option to buy. I paid $25 for it and for what you get it should be much cheaper. I'd say $10 or 15 would be a more reasonable price.. All the way I was looked after. I was picked up from my accomodation and bought back by one of their float plane pilots, David, and although the White island tour costs a bit it is in my opinion well worth every cent. You cant really appreciate New Zealand until youve done this.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Let us down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked a 15 minute trip to pick us up from the lake in front of the motel in Ngongotaha, at no time was it mentioned that we were not paying enough for the pick up - which was the whole magic of the booking and a long standing dream of my husband. When it didn't appear at our booked time our hosts rang to check - told it would be about half an hour late as they were fitting another booking. 15 minutes later we had another call to say our 15 minute booking didn't entitle us to be picked up on the lake front and we were invited to pay another 100 dollars each. We declined. At some point we will have our treat somewhere else - our hosts were lovely. We spent the time with a glass of wine looking out over the lake. If you are not paying enough money this company appears not to bother about you, we certainly won't be recommending them

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Flying plane or Helicopter trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Opted the Flying plane with afternoon flight taking off from Lake Rotorua which was a novel thing to do as never been on a flying plane before.
Individual seat for everyone on board with own window view. Trip was about 40 minutes with excellent view of Mt Tarawera volcano which we circled a couple of time so all on board could take photographs of.
Helicopter option included landing near top of volcano.
Pilot very informative and gave good commentry on the way up and down.
Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Made my daughter's birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We did the 15 minute helicopter tour over Rotorua for my daughter's 9th birthday. She sat up front and loved every second. Awesome scenery and everyone was really helpful and friendly with great knowledge of the area and its history. Will be saving the pennies so we can do it again soon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a real impulse buy as we were not intending to make a purchase. However the day was beautiful, blue skies and hardly a breeze. We went on the Cessna Floatplane to the Hidden Valley of Orakei Korako with our journey taking us over volcanic mountains and then setting down on a lake. We were then taken on a short boat ride to a geothermal ground which was just amazing. This tour is not cheap NZ $445 but it has to be one of the best activities we have ever done. Of course the weather did help and our pilot David's (a local guy) knowledge was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanic Air Safaris Rotorua also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Volcanic Air Safaris Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcanic Air Safaris Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Volcanic Air Safaris Rotorua to your Saves list