We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED, loved this place!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort to your Saves list
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 Robinson Ave, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3042, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“LOVED, loved this place!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Wai Ora for two nights after spending three days in Auckland. What can I say but we "LOVED" this place. I will most definatley recommend it to anyone as the only place to stay while visiting Rotorua. The staff are very kind & amazing which made a world of difference!

We had a great room on the lower level, as close the the lake as possible. The room was very modern/trendy, clean and VERY comfortable. From fresh fruit upon arrival in the room to a great fridge/coffee area. Plus it was a real fridge - not a mini-bar so you could put your own stuff in it if you liked. Bathroom was very nice and they supplied you with very plush & comfortable robes and slippers. Amenities in the bathroom were great and they replaced them and gave extra the next day :). We felt like we could just totally relax which we did the first night. On the first night we went to the bar for a glass of wine (they gave us a card in the room for a free glass of wine in the bar on the first night) before dinner then went to the restaurant for dinner which was amazing - we had a great prawn/scallop starter and then both had the lamb - amazing!!!! I don't think there was many people staying at the hotel. During dinner there was us an one other couple. The same guy who served us in the bar, served us dinner.

The hotel had a lot of the same staff on - mostly likely due to low season plus low occupancies. Breakfast the next two days was out of this world amazing - this was without doubt the best breakfast we have EVER had anywhere!!!! I'm very serious about this one :) - AMAZING!

They had free internet in the lobby for guests to use as well as a great spa that we unfortunatley did not get to use. As I mentioned that staff are really good - one day we came back completely soaked from a very rainy day and were chilled to the bone. We asked about laundry facilities as our clothes were wet and they offered to do the laundry for us free of charge!!! While they were doing that, they started up the hot tub/jacuzzi's that were outside in the back by the spa for us which we really enjoyed to warm up after a chilly day. I think we stayed in them for a good hour and twenty minutes :)

If you want a warm, cozy, modern experience with great food and staff, then stay here!!! We will next time.....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    56
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
177
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Fantastic staff, beautiful scenery and great quality service. All staff were exceptionally helpful which made our stay in rotorua in memoral one. Rotorua was definitely one of the highlights of my trip and was made that much better by where we stayed. Thanks for the good times.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

We arrived late - after 11 pm on a Thursday night. When we called for directions as we entered Rotorua, Brian (the owner) got on the phone and gave us step by step directions to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted warmly and Brian and James accompanied us to the bar so that we could enjoy a glass of wine (with great recommendations from James) before heading to bed. Everyone else at the hotel was just as warm and welcoming. Service was first rate the entire stay. We didn't partake in spa services but used the hot tub/sauna and the spa staff was also very friendly. The hotel is located right on the lake, so there are lovely views from the front of the hotel. Not right in town but convenient enough to the roads leading to all the local attractions. If we are back in Rotorua, would undoubtedly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

From the moment we stepped into resort right up until the moment we left the staff at Wai Ora Spa resort were amazingly welcoming and hospitable.

The beautifully quaint bar is one you can quite easily 'lose yourself' in... But the favourite part of my time there would have to be the outdoor luxury spas. Set in a picturerisque environment surrounded by natural New Zealand flora and fauna, which even has a little stream running through it. I couldn't have designed it better myself.

It's obvious that the team at Wai Ora spent a lot of time thinking of every detail ensuring the possible experience for everyone... Afterall it's the little things that count.

Top quality, friendly, genuine, 5 star service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

First the good stuff:
The spa has a terrific location.
The staff are really friendly and could not be more helpful.
The food in the restaurant was absoultely terrific.

Now the bad stuff (although I concede this is very subjective).
The muzak in the restaurant is appalling but probably appeals to those over 60.
The lack of appropriate use of lighting in the restaurant leads to a lack of atmosphere - it was like eating in a fully lit showroom.
The showing of a rugby game on TV - apparently at the behest of the owner, who was wathcxing the game - in the adjacent bar and the acompanying blaring commentary -
was hardly conducive to a pleasant dining experience - and this from a rugby fan. Tthere is a time and a place for everything. If I had wanted to see the (and hear!) the game, I would have gone to a sports bar.
So, in summary, great location, nice rooms, good staff, great food but poor atmosphere, at least in part due to a lack of thought on the part of the management.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2009
Thank you for your reveiw and comments about the the food, service and location which is appreciated. In respect to the lighting of the Restaurant and Music I would have to agree with you as both items were not addressed in the normal manner which is more subdued lighting in the Restaurant by dimming of the main lights electonically and the lighting of candles to provide what many are sayiing is a very good dinning atmosphere. In terms of the music unfortuneately only one playlist was used on the night in question rather than the normal spread of music that we have. You will be pleased to know that the situation that you experience should not be repeated and I am soory that you had the experience that you did. We endaevour to provide the best experience possible but on this occassion we were not as good as we nromally are in terms of dealing with the details which is crucial for an enjoyable experience.
In terms of the rugby I must admit that I was present in the bar at time of the rugby game along with a number of in house guests who were looking forward to seeing the rugby on our large screen. In veiw of your comments we have now adpoted a policy of close the doors to the Manary English Lounge Bar so that the sound from this area is isolated from the restaurant . Again, thank you for your reveiw and the points that you raised which is very much appreciated as it helps us to improve on our customer delivery and remind us that it is easy to overlook how all of our guests may perceive their experience with us.
Bryan Hughes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we were visiting Rotorua. We managed to get a great deal online which included a lakeside suite, a la carte breakfast, use of the spa facilities and a visit to the Hell's Gate Thermal Reserve, which was excellent although we couldn't get the smell out of our clothes for a good few days afterwards! The hotel itself is lovely, the staff very friendly and the rooms had everything you could wish for, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, fridge and tea and coffee making facilites. Breakfast was really tasty, excellent choice and all prepared fresh. It was a really miserable day too but our room felt lovely and cosy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you are going to be in Rotoura, you need to seriously consider staying here. Let me start by saying that the resort is a bit pricier than many of the hotels in the area, but it is worth every penny. Especially since they included breakfast and internet use into the price.

The staff was incredible. Romelyn was just a one-person superwoman. She did everything from wait tables, to being a sous chef, to fixing a complex network in the rooms so that the internet work.

The hotel is on the lake. So it doesn't smell like sulfur from the Hell's Gate. The rooms are very small, though. But they are cozy. Their outside spa is not very big, nor very hot, but, honestly, it is romantic.

Now the biggie: the food. I heard that their restaurant was the best in the area, being a somewhat of a food connoisseur, allow me to say: IT WAS INCREDIBLE! I have dined at some of the world famous 5-star, 5-diamond restaurants, and the chef at this location deserves mention. My wife and I still remember those meals.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Address: 77 Robinson Ave, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.