We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This place is incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort to your Saves list
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 Robinson Ave, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3042, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Wow! This place is incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you are going to be in Rotoura, you need to seriously consider staying here. Let me start by saying that the resort is a bit pricier than many of the hotels in the area, but it is worth every penny. Especially since they included breakfast and internet use into the price.

The staff was incredible. Romelyn was just a one-person superwoman. She did everything from wait tables, to being a sous chef, to fixing a complex network in the rooms so that the internet work.

The hotel is on the lake. So it doesn't smell like sulfur from the Hell's Gate. The rooms are very small, though. But they are cozy. Their outside spa is not very big, nor very hot, but, honestly, it is romantic.

Now the biggie: the food. I heard that their restaurant was the best in the area, being a somewhat of a food connoisseur, allow me to say: IT WAS INCREDIBLE! I have dined at some of the world famous 5-star, 5-diamond restaurants, and the chef at this location deserves mention. My wife and I still remember those meals.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    63
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
189
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Quiet, clean & comfortable room. Staff could not do enough to make us more welcome & the chefs are top notch. The spa facilities were excellent. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

spa/sauna facilities are amazing, very good customer service - we were very impressed.
the Manary bar would have had to been one of the highligts - very good atmosphere with vary prompt and friendly service, james was very polite and overall had very good customer service.
i really enjoyed my stay and will definantly be back.
cheers
keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I don't usually post reviews, but felt obliged to given just how friendly, courteous and helpful the staff were - one of the best hospitalities I have encountered. Highly recommend staying here, and having a dip in the mud baths at Hell's Gate (though beware the lingering smell...)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed two nights toward the beginning of July. The eerie part was that the first night I think one other room was taken but the second I'm quite sure we were alone in the place. I enjoyed that it was away from town (and for the most part the smell). It was very quiet and peaceful. The room had the highest quality everything which was nice to see. We had dinner in the restaurant which (to be honest like most of the food we had in new zealand) didn't live up to expectations. It was good, but not as spectacular as I had read to be honest. I have to be honest, in general, I think it's a spectacular place. The lake views are sublime, the quality is top notch and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. We were totally let down on our last morning, when...there was no hot water. The previous night we had been asked if we were having a problem but we'd been out all night at Mitai and didn't even have occasion to use it. The next morning there wasn't a drop of hot water. Seeing as we were in a rush we didn't report it until check out. It would have easily received 5 stars, but with no shower in the AM, I can't do it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle bus that they ran was excellent and really helped us get around Rotorua. The room and resort itself was beautiful and the spas were relaxing and were in a peaceful setting. We would recommend this place to any honeymooners or couples.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed in the hotel, and like some other people have already commented on Trip Advisor, we felt like the hotel was pretty empty. We were upgraded to a junior suite with views of the lake, and it was a lovely room. We were a little disappointed at first because up to this point in our travels around New Zealand we had stayed in apartments and were used to having laundry and full kitchen facilities available - this place is much more like a normal hotel with individual rooms. The room was big and the TV was excellent - huge! There was a nice jacuzzi bath, although we didn't actually use it.

My husband thought that the breakfasts here (set menu dishes cooked and presented to a very high standard) were fantastic - the best out of all the places that we stayed in in New Zealand, although personally I would prefer a buffet so that you are able to choose more healthy food for breakfast if you want to.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, so it was a 15 minute drive into Rotorua as there did not appear to be anything else around. However, we were using the internet one evening and heard some local ladies leaving and telling the manager that the food was excellent. Rotorua itself has lots of nice restaurants if you go to the street parallel to the main street (the main street does not have much to offer).

We enjoyed using the hot-tubs after we returned from our day trips, although one night they locked the door to the spa area and so we could not get back in. We were banging and banging for ages, and eventually my husband managed to find a gate covered in cobwebs which led back to the main hotel area so he could come and let me back in.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and remembered our names and where we had been each day - a nice. friendly touch.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Address: 77 Robinson Ave, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.