We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
77 Robinson Avenue | Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3021, New Zealand
64 73435100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 72 Activities in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua, central to Rotorua Airport, the city and the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This contemporary lakeside resort features luxurious accommodation, and superb day spa facilities centred on New Zealand’s geothermal, cultural and natural heritage.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed there for one night with my partner for our one year anniversary, the service was beyond excellent! Staff were very friendly and helpful towards our needs! Food at the restaurant was very delicious, serving portion during dinner was quite small, but the taste and quality of it was exceptional! The internet was very fast! Hotel was kept very clean! Breakfast was very filling! Overall, the resort was very quiet which was very good for me and my partner, so there was more of a closer romantic feel to it :)
It would've been better if the tv was closer and in front of the bed and not at a corner, because it seemed far away and we had to up the volume. Sleep quality was very good! a warning for others, you may not want to wake up because the bed is very soft and comfortable, had trouble meeting the 11am checkout time, but staff were very generous and friendly, and were very nice to us about it, they even served us breakfast whenever we were ready. Our stay at the resort involved a 30minute mirimiri massage. The service and massage was beyond amazing!! Massage was exceptionally soothing and relaxing.
Overall, our stay at the Wai Ora Lakeside Spa resort was amazing!! Thank you for the wonderful experience :)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful frolicking in the mud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Landscape is quite amazing and is worth exploring prior to treatments (use suncream as the altitude causes sunburn). The mud spa is wonderful and great fun. You also get to spend time in the spa pool after your mud spa treatment. The resort also does hotel pick-up and drop-off which is recommended, given its location in relation to the hotels in the city.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Pampering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Pampering to say the least. It was a business meeting however we all felt like kings and queens - especially during breakfast and dinner during which each plate was an artwork. I never thought scrambled eggs could be made to look so good!

Very comfortable huge rooms, complete with kitchen, jacuzzi, living area etc.

The only drawback was the distance from downtown Rotorua but it's very close to Rotorua airport. Nevertheless, the staff always kindly obliged to drop us anywhere in town we felt like going - incidentally Te Puia and Hell's Gate (same management) - are two places you can't miss. The Polynesian Spa is another good spot by the way. So the ideal way to come to this resort is to rent your own car. Parking space is ample in the resort and should not be a problem.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We booked our weekend here for the Easter weekend.
I must say it was a pleasant stay, relaxing, way from all the noise.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Do try their Spa facilities, we spent a good few hours in the hot pool.
Spacious room, not much view of the lake even though it's a stones throw away but we didn't mind that one bit.
All in all, this is the place to be if you are looking for a nice quiet and relaxing weekend away from it all.
Go get pampered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We purchased the package deal for two nights which included a couples massage, upper level accommodation and breakfasts.

The massage was delightful and set the scene for a relaxing stay. Our room was large and comfortable and fitted out with every convenience.

The food is on a par with the best restaurants we have visited. The three for the price of two tasting plates are exceptional value but it is the quality of the food and beautiful presentation that sets this above standard.

We found the 5 minute drive from town no problem as it got us away from noise and bustle and there is a very pleasant lakeside walk directly outside the property.

We recommend this fine resort to all without hesitation.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.