We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Inn Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leisure Inn Rotorua to your Saves list
Leisure Inn Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Lake Road | Koutu, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Rotorua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would recommend this hotel to families travelling by car who want a clean, comfortable hotel with a pool and spa to give it a touch of luxury. The kitchen was useful for simple microwave meals. There were bowls and plates etc.
The internet was very good once connected.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
RYTON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dirty kitchenware, dead flies on toilet cistern, coffee and tea supplies not replenished on 2nd day, radiator not working, door security questionable on patio exit ( no chairs etc outside),cursory floor cleaning. Really needs a supervisor to check the rooms out after "servicing " Room 28.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bedroom was clean and spacious with 2 double beds. The bathroom was small with only a shower (that looked like it could do with a good scrub). There was a microwave and electric jug but no toaster. There was only a small fan heater which made it difficult to heat the large room.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is wonderful for the price. We stayed 2 nights and the receptionist was extremely helpful and full of ideas. We arrived at 6pm and she suggested to go to the thermal Springs.. they are open till 11pm. Rooms are large for this type of hotel and the shower is the best we found in any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Front Office Manager at Leisure Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with Leisure Inn Rotorua. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights while mtbing. Great little motel with large rooms and fantastic pool and spa. Slightly away from the city centre and a 20-30min ride to the redwoods. Only disappointment was $5pp for use of the bbq. It was not charged in the end however it was still silly they even mentioned it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Front Office Manager at Leisure Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The team at Leisure Inn Rotorua really appreciate your review on our property and we glad to hear that you have enjoyed our pool and spa service. Regarding the charges of BBQ just want to let you know that, we charge 5 per person for the cleaning and gas use.
We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have identical grey travelling cases which we use for our holidays but, because they are obviously mass produced, it became difficult to spot our own two when reclaiming baggage at various airports around the world.

Being in graphics prior to retirement I solved the problem by producing a couple of stickers (of the type that hotels used to give guests at one time). For my own amusement I made these two stickers feature the fictitious motel called 'Fawlty Towers' - see photo - never thinking I would ever stay at such a place that would probably approach the feeling of that name.

Regrettably, Leisure Inns, Rotorua, reminded me of those stickers. Not because there was anything basically wrong with the layout, a little cramped perhaps but not serious; however, on first entry we felt that there was a certain lack of maintenance: it had that 'seen better days' feeling. The toilet and washing facilities were nowhere up to the standard of, say, the Bali Hi in the Bay of Islands. You might have described them as 'adequate'. There was wi-fi available, but of a limited nature, and the view from our main room was not exactly uplifting.

Sleeping arrangements were fine and the beds comfortable, the swimming pool looked OK although we did not have time to try it out.

On the plus side the staff were always courteous and helpful. However one felt that the whole complex was probably past due for a make over.

Tony Shapps

Room Tip: View the washing facilities and check wi-fi prior to moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Front Office Manager at Leisure Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for you comment on Leisure Inn Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pleasant motel is located some 10-15 minute walk from the Rotorua CBD and on the opposite side of the city where the thermal attractions are largely located and where the bulk of Rotorua’s accommodation is sited. The staff are friendly and the rooms clean with comfortable beds and an adequate albeit smallish bathroom. Internet access was free but very slow and intermittent. With a rental car you can park close to or outside your room and there is an onsite pool and spa. With an onsite breakfast area you have to head down town to have dinner – not a hard thing given then number of local restaurants in Rotorua. Altogether a pleasant short stay in this interesting area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Front Office Manager at Leisure Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. Leisure Inn Staff would love to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Rotorua

Address: 131 Lake Road | Koutu, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Inn Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a geothermal wonderland, the Leisure Inn Rotorua offers 38 rooms, including a family rooms, one bedroom units and studio rooms.The hotel is a 15 minute stroll or 5 minute drive to Rotorua CBD, amenities include a swimming pool and heated spa. Private parking is also available for guests' convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leisure Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Inn Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.