We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope this helps (2 bedroom unit)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kuirau Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Hope this helps (2 bedroom unit)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The first thing we noticed was the overpowering stench in our room and no it wasn't Rotorua's thermal odour (that we don't mind). I had to go out and buy an air fresher, which we used regularly through out our weekend stay. Thankfully by the third day the smell wasn't as noticeable. Perhaps the smell came from the carpet which seriously needs replacing. The sofa bed was heavily stained, hard and lumpy and needs to be replaced now! Other beds were very comfortable. Shower was 'temperamental' and would suddenly stop/start and the temperature would vary when being used and there was hardly any pressure. If it hadn't been for these flaws, I would have rated it excellent. The owners might wonder why we didn't complain, well we just wanted to get on with our programme. Otherwise the room was clean and spacious. The location was within walking distance to town. The redeeming feature for us was it's fantastic mineral pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

With Rotorua being an expensive place to stay, this motel was fine for the price (about NZ$175 for 4 people). It's true the place needs a major refurb (it almost has a retro feeling to it) but many local motels are in a similar state. However, it was spotlessly clean, as was the on site thermal pool. Potentially noisy if you are in a street facing room, but for a night, we thought it was fine.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main road if noise is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It started off bad, we booked for 4 and on arrival paid and then checked it out, only 3 beds in the unit but was told the 4th bed was the sofa which would be required to be made up, wasn't really suitable for us but was offered an upgrade for and extra $15 a night. Wasn't very happy about this as we thought the motel should have made it clearer when accepting our reservation, however we were committed and took the upgrade.

The room was dirty, cockroaches we found on the floor and the bathroom unit was covered with muck for the whole time of our stay, wasn't even cleaned on the daily service. The cleaners look like they are In bad need of training or quality control supervision. Not really good enough.

The outside pool looked a bit grubby and the users with us complained that the pool was too hot.

Maybe a budget motel but the prices don't really match this claim.

This place will not be on our list of places that we will consider in the future, sad really as the location is pretty good

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would not stay here again. Badly in need of updating the rooms (beds, furniture, appliances, décor etc). After checking in and paying for our four night stay upfront before viewing our room
, I wish I had only paid for the one night, and gone elsewhere the next morning. First night, woke up with a bad back, slept like a 'banana'.. mattress was sunken in the middle, springs were flat (without someone lying on them) and I would say are definitely way overdue to be replaced!! I thought I might swap for another mattress in the unit, but found they were all in the same bad condition. Pillows (or the linen on them) were what seemed clean, but they didn't smell very good. The TV was old and small, picture wasn't very clear and the flimsy table that the TV sat on was wobbly, too narrow and unsafe for any small children in the unit. The bathroom/toilet needed some sort of non-slip matting or non-slip tiles. The shower floor is the same level floor of the bathroom, and with smooth tiles throughout the bathroom, made it incredibly slippery after using the shower and even once it was dried with a towel, still slippery.. another hazard. No extraction fans in the bathroom, so to let the condensation out after a shower (or someone using the toilet), I had to push open the small window above the toilet which I had to stand on the toilet to get to and was hard and stiff to push open. There was a dirty roasting pan in the oven, obviously overlooked by the cleaners. The WiFi is expensive to use. The small section of grassed area in the grounds were untidy and unmown, and the communal pool area was untidy also. The only thing I enjoyed was the hot pool in the unit. The lodge is in a convenient location to town and all amenities, but overall unit/s need a good revamp inside and outside needs a good tidy to smarten up its appearance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at our motel. We believe the unit you are staying is a studio pool unit from your description of it. First of all we apologise for the overlooked pan in the oven and have reprimanded our cleaner. We have been replacing beds in our motel as the need arises and we had some new beds that were ‘too hard’ for some customers. We try to go in between but in the end it is always customer’s preference. Maybe you had the softer ones. The bathroom overall never had complaints for its usage, maybe it is just how each person contents to use it for the way it is designed for (also the studio pool unit is a wheel chair friendly unit and this is why the shower and bathroom floor is the same level, we have bath mats placed in all bathrooms to minimise slippery floors). WIFI is FREE and not sure why you said it is expensive when it is not chargeable. In the last 2 months (due to low season), we had been constantly redecorating the motel and the schedule had not catch up with this particular unit. Yes, our motel has the most convenient location to town, thank you for that, and we also like to stress that we are a budget motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visiting from the UK, we spent a good few days of our holiday jet lagged, and we weren't prepared for what we faced at this motel. The bedding, in our opinion, hadn't been washed, or if it had, it had been done so very badly. The bedding smelt so vile that we could not put our nose to the pillows and had to sleep with our faces off the pillow. Hairs were in abundance in the bedding also. Windows were drafty, and there was a lingering smell of sulphur in the rooms in the evenings. Radiators also had leaky valves, which in the UK is considered unacceptable to have in commercial accommodation, as well as the regular bombardment of ants in the kitchen, and very drafty and unclosable window in our bathroom. We stayed for 2 nights, and would never stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at our motel. We are sad to note that your experience at our motel was not pleasant but we beg to defer on many things you had mentioned in this review. All our beddings are thoroughly washed and dried and are free of hairs and what not. If they would have smelled so bad (we believe this is untrue), you could have easily asked for a change. Windows can be securely closed by way of latch if you find it drafty. Rotorua being a region surrounded by hot pools and geysers, sulphur smell is everywhere and it sometimes gets into the rooms when you open or close the windows and doors, moreover our motel have 2 hot pools located in the building itself. You might have ants if you had leftovers not properly thrown away in a bin, and is not fair to lay this out on the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been staying at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge on and off for many, many years (approx 30) and would have to say that my last stay was rather disappointing. We had two rooms (usually three) as we were travelling with a netball team and this is the fourth time that we have stayed at this motel with three different owners. Unfortunately what used to be clean, good basic accommodation is no longer so. While the rooms themselves suit all of our needs size wise and amenity wise there were cobwebs in all the corners of the rooms and mildew on the kitchen and bathroom windows and frames. The childproof gate to the pool no longer locked and the doors to the mineral pools are no longer self closing and childproof.

When we went to book for next year as we have done four times previously I was told that they were unable to take bookings that far in advance and I would have to ring and book in January. I was absolutely gobsmacked as this is how we have done it previously as we play every year in one of the biggest netball tournaments in the country and getting accommodation that ticks all the boxes can be quite difficult. Unfortunately we are now looking for alternative accommodation for next year and will take our approx $1000 elsewhere.

Very disappointing !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a top spot Rotorua is. We stayed one night as part of our North Island road trip and found the little bit extra in fee was worth it as we got our very own private hot pool at the back of our room. We found the proprietor to be very friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool. It costs a few dollars more but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.