We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What! Our own pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kuirau Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What! Our own pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a top spot Rotorua is. We stayed one night as part of our North Island road trip and found the little bit extra in fee was worth it as we got our very own private hot pool at the back of our room. We found the proprietor to be very friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool. It costs a few dollars more but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place to join with family and friends. Love the mineral pools and the outdoor heated pool. Not too hot on the unit with pool attached its like one huge clay pot. Not keen on the fold down couch as it is uncomfortable to sleep on. Great stay, for a great price, close to town, perfect for movie lovers as the reading theatre is right across the road. Ruck and maul is just up from the theatre so great for somene who wants to enjoy a cold one in front of a large screen watching your favorite sport

Room Tip: Dont go for the room with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

An older motel and a bit dated inside. Rather chilly, however an extra heater available. Roomy. Very clean. Very nice linen on bed, therefore warm and comfortable (despite no electric blanket). Hosts most obliging. A good central location for easy walk to shopping and to Kuirau Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have used this motel a few times now over the years and it certainly needs a revamp now. The facilities are very tired, eg rotten wood in the bathroom, curtains that only just meet in the bedrooms. There was not much in the way of service for these rooms - no beds made or dishes done - it's nice to have something for the money you pay, not just a roof over your head. Saying that, the location is great, but I'm not sure if we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Booked via phone for 2 bedroom apartment for 4 of us. On arrival was charged $160 for 2 bedroom, went upstairs only to find we had been given a 1 bedroom unit with only 3 beds in total. reception staff advised this was all they had, no apology given. Room we received was shown online at a charge of only $100 as well so felt had tried to rip us off . Guy on reception didnt offer to help I had to ask for him to ring other motels to find us somewhere to stay at such short notice. He found us a 3 bedroom for $185 when I asked if they would cover the extra $25 since it was their stuff up was told no we dont do that, really didnt seem to care he was spoiling a family holiday at all, I could maybe understand that mistakes happen but you expect people to accept responsiblity, apologise for the mistake and offer to help rectify it, extremely disappointed in the service here. I even advised that I would be placing bad feedback on sites about them! Sent an email to the address listed on website to advise owners perhaps, but never heard anything back from them either. We weren't the only ones that day either there was also another lady with young kids that had booked a unit with own pool which her kids had been excited about, she had been let down too, and when we left to take the 3 bedroom at the extra cost because we were left with no other options at the time, she was still looking for a room elsewhere!Bad form Kuirau Motel, will not be recommending you!

Room Tip: Request to check that the room you are given is the one you booked before paying anything
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Lisa,

We are so sorry for what had happened with your booking and we recognise the fault was from our end. As explained to you, we had a computer crashed and bookings got mucked up. We did our best to fix things for you by offering you an alternative unit (1 bedroom) that accommodates the number of people you had. We beg to differ that we gave you a 1 bedroom unit for the price of a 2 bedroom unit. That 1 bedroom unit has never been sold anytime anywhere online for $100 as claimed (maybe you mistaken it for a studio unit price). When you expressed that you wasn’t satisfied with what we offered, only then we suggested that we (not you) find you accommodation elsewhere. Also the lady that you mentioned weren’t happy with us is unfounded as she even came back to thank us for finding them an appropriate alternate accommodation.

Sincerely,
Rhose and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is an older motel, it is clean but could use some updating. We had booked a studio room with hot tub but were disapppointed to find the tub was a concrete bowl and was not appealing. The beds were way too soft. There was a lot of noise from the pipes that provide thermal water to the hot tubs. We wanted to do laundry but all machines except one dryer were out of service in the guest laundryroom. However, the location is within walking distance to the city centre and shopping mall. This was the only motel on our journey where we had to pay the full amount on check-in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the hot pools was out of action during our stay in February and the other was dirty. The outdoor pool was good, but its surrounding overgrown and untidy. The road noise was too much for us - but otherwise it was very central and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.