We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Dog Cafe & Bar

Fat Dog Cafe & Bar
1161 Arawa St., Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
64 7 347 7586
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 154 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seriously awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The food here is delicious and the decor and vibe is awesome, very laid back and funky. I'm a vegetarian and found vegetarian options sorely lacking on many restaurant menus around NZ, but there were at least 3-4 options for me to choose from, all delicious and all with good nutritional content (i.e. not just the perennial canneloni or risotto, which gets boring). The coffee is great (it comes with a little biscuit and a marshmallow) and the raspberry and white chocolate muffin has set the bar incredibly high for all muffins, it was that delicious. The chocolate pudding is HUGE, my boyfriend and I couldn't finish it together, so definitely don't order it just for yourself! We stayed in Rotorua for 3 nights and went twice for dinner and once for breakfast. Food arrives quickly, portions are very big and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    217
    77
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome smoothies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Have dropped in here for breakfast several times and have never been disappointed - difficult to choose from the extensive menus on the wall..so many tasty choices! Food arrives quickly no matter how busy the place is...highly recommend the smoothies!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BIG meals with lots of fries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I ate out here on a weekend trip to Rotorua recently. We both enjoyed our meals however felt that they were a little too full of fries and very big rather than especially complicated. I ordered the Moroccan Chicken Burger which I thought didn't really have much Moroccan flavour about it and my husband's Dogs Bollocks? burger, while good, wasn't anything out of the norm.

I would recommend this place as great for large groups as they can easily cater for that, good for those with large appetites but not quite the place if you want something a bit unusual.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food - plenty to share.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

While trying to decide on a place to eat in Rotorua we happened by this place. Since it was the most crowded we decided we should give it a try. The menu is written on several blackboards which will take you quite a while to figure out what you'll have. Thank goodness you'll probably be standing in line awhile so to afford you the time to make a selection. Didn't seem like you could go wrong with whatever you selected since I noticed people weren't leaving too much on their plates once done. The portions are quite large so if you and a partner can settle on one thing you could definitely share and still not leave hungry. This place like many places in New Zealand offers free water. I suggest you put your money into a good food choice and drink water to offset the cost. One afternoon we stopped in for some hot chocolate. Best hot chocolate ever!! Even the marshmallows were baller.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great local taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Its a great place to have heavy breakfast in the morning. We had fun with the family there. Ordered Fat dog breakfast for myself - quite a huge portion! Along with travellers, lot of locals visit this place as well and hence its a good to have experience when you are in Rotorua.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dog Cafe & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Fat Dog Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Dog Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.