We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Dog Cafe & Bar

Fat Dog Cafe & Bar
1161 Arawa St., Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
64 7 347 7586
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 154 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge portions!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fat Dog really stands to its name. There meals portions are really big, very nice food tough. My advise is if you are not a big eater than choose carefully and ask the wonderful staff before ordering or sharing 1 big meal between 2 people is a good idea as well. Ill definitely recommend Fat Dog to every one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    217
    78
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went there for breakfast over Labour Weekend and the food was great and service was awesome. Would recommend to all my friends to visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We walked passed the Fat Dog on our first night but it was jam packed and we hadn't booked. The next day I called and booked a table for 11 about an hour before we intended to eat and it was reserved when we arrived. The chairs all have cute slogans or quotes on them and it is a nice, bright friendly place. The menu choice is amazing! We had a Vegan and Veggie with us and they had lots to choose from. Whilst the meat eaters were catered to with NZ lamb joints, burgers and steaks etc... The veggie even commented on not being used to having this much choice! All in all it was an excellent meal and we would all highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Gods food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We thought this place had Good food, good atmosphere, good service, good value. It is right in the heart of all the shops so good locations as well. Big meals so bring you appetite.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and cafe experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went here for lunch. Huge range of choices written on the wall. Only thing is, didn't notice the specials on a smaller blackboard standing by the wall until we were leaving. We both had burgers - and they were MASSIVE! We had to deconstruct and remove some of the fillings before we could start eating. They were delicious. And we got some of their award winning caramel slice to takeaway. Expensive - but sinfully delicious. I would definitely recommend this cafe. But remember, it is a cafe, not a restaurant, so don't expect anything flash.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dog Cafe & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Fat Dog Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Dog Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.