We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent afternoon of family rafting !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wet'n'Wild Rafting Company

Wet'n'Wild Rafting Company
58a Fryer Road | Hamurana, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
+64 7-348 3191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 Activities in Rotorua
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 30 years safely rafting New Zealand Rivers we have an accumulated wealth of rafting knowledge and experience to share with you. Daily rafting options on the Wairoa, Kaituna, and Rangitaiki Rivers. Multi-day Wilderness river journeys on the Motu and Mohaka rivers. Choose from a unique range of experiences, wild whitewater to leisurely scenic floats. Combine with Helicopter and Mountainbiking. Raft with experienced Guides who take your safety seriously.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent afternoon of family rafting !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had such an excellent trip down the beautiful Rangitaiki river this afternoon with our guides Peter and Kiro. With children of 8 and 11 we were a little unsure about whether to take the easier Grade 2 rapids option or the Grade 3, more adult version. Under Peter's patient and knowledgeable guidance and tuition we had a great time on the more advanced section. A thoroughly enjoyable and exhilarating trip, to be recommended. Julie, Ashley and family, UK

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A thrill-seeking white water raft for a good price and time frame!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed rafting the Kaituna with Wet n Wild, with the only issue being that the river becomes too dangerous to allow the fun to continue!

Use of great equipment, lead by assuring instructor on a challenging grade 5 course that offers beautiful scenery when the chance to view it all arises.

Highlight was easily navigating and riding the 7m waterfall.

Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“MAGIC !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pete & Dougie took us on a fantastic white water rafting adventure that we will never ever forget. We did the Rangitaiki which was a 2 hour rafting trip along 14kms of the river through absolutely beautiful forest and scenery. The guides were fun and got to know us through the quiet bits and then looked after us through the rapids. Hot showers, hot drinks, and then toasted sandwiches and marshmellow biscuits were a great touch after such a fun time. Can't recommend wet n wild rafting more = 100% perfect day. Thanks especially to Pete for looking after my first time rafting family who rated it the best experience in NZ. Oh & we didn't see another raft - it was just like we had the whole river to ourselves.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First time rafting - Combo great stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my wife used services of W'n'W Rafting in March 2013. We decided to go with a double combo - Kaituna River and then Wairoa on the same day. If you have enough time and afterwards return to Rotorua or Taupo region then I recommend first going for Wairoa and then for Kaituna. After Kaituna you get the chance to use showers and rafting Wairoa it much longer so you can gain some experience which will make your Kaituna experience even better. In general we highly recommend taking the two in one day - we didn't need to rush anywhere, everything was organized well and we had lots of fun. Owner of the company is very responsive and I managed to settle everything from thousands miles away.

Kaituna River - we had issue arriving to the meeting place. We trusted our navigation and this was mistake. Many thanks to organizers for waiting really long time for us. When you're driving from Rotorua remember to go north taking Sh 33 towards Okere Falls instead of following Sh 30 west (!). Rafting itself was great, bush surrounding the river added special feeling to already awesome adventure. It was our first time rafting and I find Kaituna a good place to start. I was thrilling enough with the waterfalls and at the same time there were many calm moments where we could master technique or simply relax. As for our guide - we felt safe all the time and he was instructive enough. My wife felt that he could be more informative and pay more attention to us but in general we can't complain. Finally, there was the 7f. waterfall - the felling when you get sucked under water and thinking if a raft would flip or not - unforgeable! The only drawback of this experience is that it's really short.

Waiora River - we found it much better then Kaituna. Rafting was longer, more demanding and also took place in beautiful scenery. My wife was extremely pleased with our guide, this time a much more experienced fellow. Before we started dealing with rapids he made us practice all sorts of rafting techniques, including flipping the boat and getting back to raft, dragging another person to the raft when she/he fell out, etc. This was great stuff as even the most frightened person felt much more reassured and everyone could enjoy the following experience even more. Big plus for that! He also briefed us in details on what to do and how to behave before each tricky rapid. He left no doubt that safety is his main concern. Having said that, he let volunteers to jump into one of the final rapids and swim with the current. According to him other companies do not allow that. If so, then another big plus :) The only disadvantage of Wairoa river was that it was crowded, our raft was full, there were quite a few other rafts around. On Kaituna there were only three of us in a group. On the other hand there was enough trill on the way down the river to forget about it.

Before rafting my wife was worried if she gets gold, etc. In March weather and water were warm enough, we felt all the way comfortably. If it's sunny you can easily skip the wet suits. If it had been raining we would have done Kaituna anyway as afterwards there's place to warm up and dry. With Waiora I think we would give up.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“white water rafting on 26/04/13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The briggs family went white water rafting on a grade 3-4 on Rangitaiki river. This was our first experience at it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The water level was quite low as we hadnt had much rain but this didn't stop us from having a good time. There were 2 boats of 4 that went out for the day. Pete and Hiro were great fun and good instructors and good cooks as they also provided a light lunch for us all. It is 2 hours of bliss looking at the natural scenery along the river and they even picked us up from the place we were staying. We will definately do this again when we revisit rotorua. Thanks again for an enjoyable day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet'n'Wild Rafting Company also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wet'n'Wild Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wet'n'Wild Rafting Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.