We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous for a family weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Save Saved
You added Arista of Rotorua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous for a family weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Tastefully decorated, modern and clean! We were not disappointed with this one bedroom mezzanine unit for the three of us. We loved our own private spa in the outside courtyard, as well as the second tv upstairs – perfect for our 9 year old to watch her own tv program! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you like our newly refurbished units which were completed last year and the private spas, which provide a great way to relax after a long day sightseeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    82
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
154
107
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Arista for one night with our family of 6 ( 4 children aged 13,11,8 and 6. ) Although there was a mix up with the booking not sleeping all of us it was soon resolved and the room changed. The rooms were clean, modern and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable. The private spa was a hit with the kids, very relaxing for the adults too!
It is important to be security conscious in Rotorua and make sure your vehicle and room are locked as there are thieves operating in this tourist area.

Room Tip: We had the room which was nearest to the main road and the traffic noise was not a problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased our facilities met all your needs and im sure it was great for the kids to have their own space on the mezzanine floor.
We very seldom have issues with local theft however as when travelling to any destination we do advise to be security conscious (locking your cars and doors) for peace of mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked over the phone for a one night stay after spending a day with our two boys mountain biking in the Redwood Forest. The boys were happily surprised to find a pirate ship in the playground & made full use of the spa pool in our spacious family unit. After there swim The manager happily let the boys choose a kids dvd each to watch in there own space upstairs while Mum & Dad had a rest , he even found space on site to store a couple of our bikes overnight.
Excellent weekend break with great service topped of by the manager recommending the best family buffet restaurant we've had.
It was a memorable treat for our family.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a family unit if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Brendon,

Thanks for your great review.
Rotorua is a great place to enjoy mountain biking in the Redwoods or other local tracks and what better way to unwind than I one of our private spas.
We are always happy to store bikes in a secure location for visiting guests such as your family. We find our playground and extensive DVD collection are hits with families staying with us as there is always something to keep the kids busy in between outings.
We look forward to having you stay with again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a fabulous first impression we got when we arrived at the Arista, "this place has a lovely warm feel to it". Our room was as fresh as a daisy, the size of the room very spacious with the lounge and kitchenette having all that you required, the day-core had a modern contemporary look to which gave it a nice flow that lead you to the private court-yard to your own private spa bath and what makes this so amazing is the spa bath is deep and the jets just massage your body and you really do get to kick back and relax... "Absolutely Outstanding" The bathroom was at a high standard of cleanliness and I love that about a bathroom and to top it off there is nothing better then to hope into a king size bed with crisp clean sheets with comfortable pillow, is absolutely wonderful. The team at Arista made our four night stay very comfortable and pleasant, we will be back to this exceptional place. Claire and Craig.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Claire and Craig,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are glad to hear you love Arista as much as we do and that all of our facilities were exactly what you were looking for in a motel. We recently renovated our units last year and are very pleased with the face lift the modern décor has given Arista.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Kaha, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked online, it was confirmed within a minute that the room requested was available.
Arrived next day to be shown an excellent spacious bedroom with sitting room area and kitchen facilities.
It could not be faulted room scrupiously clean, crisp sheets and luxurious hotub made it an extremely enjoyable stay.
Amazingly helpful manager who knew where to eat, and how the DVD worked.
No mean feat!!!! Even leant me two DVD's
Breakfast arrived with fresh milk the night before so I was able to leave by 8 o' clock the next moring
Thank you so much
Liz Bowden

Room Tip: Speak to the manager and he will do everything in his power to help I requested a quiet room and a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi there, Thanks for staying with us. We are glad that you have been impressed with our service. We hope you enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I enjoyed my 3 night stay here at the end of Feb. I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. My room was spacious clean and the kitchen contained all the necessary equipment including teas, coffee and crockery. It is hot upstairs but there is a fan available and once the windows and door has been open a while it is fine.
300mb of WiFi per day is included, I thought this to be standard at the time but realised after travelling around NZ that this is a good deal as free WiFi is not the norm.
Supermarkets are close by and it's 10-15 minute walk to the centre which is quite easily done. All the tour operators are quite happy to pick you up and drop you off at the accommodation or in the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We think the 3 day stay in Rotorua is certainly enough time to get a taste of Rotorua. Many guests do arrive not realizing how much there is to do here. Yes it certainly was a hot summer and it has been rather warm.
Good to hear you are happy with the tourist operators service with drop offs and pick ups. Most of them have fantastic products and a great service. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Arista Motor Lodge is conveniently located on Fenton Street, with easy access to all that is Rotorua, and priced fairly for the market.

Our room had a comfortable lounge area, a private fenced-in back deck with a large private hot tub, a table and 4 chairs, small kitchenette (sink, dishes, bar fridge, kettle, electric fry pan, toaster, washing-up supplies etc), large bathroom, and Queen bed downstairs; upstairs was a small Queen bed and 3 single beds. A fan was provided on both levels, as was a TV and DVD player (with the better-quality electronics downstairs). The office had a library of DVDs that could be checked-out by guests.

The hot tub in the private walled-in back patio was rather old and looking worse for the wear, and would have benefited from a new rubber stopper. But, as far as we were concerned, the hot tub was 'bonus' rather than 'expected' and so we didn't mind that it wasn't to the same high standard as the rest of the room. Even so, the tub was obviously clean and the fact that we had to fill it ourselves assured us that the water in it was fresh.

The bathroom was recently renovated and included a large shower. The room itself was well appointed, clean, functional, and spacious. We were four adults in the room and found it very comfortable for the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi there, Thanks very much for your nice review. We appreciate nice reviews especially from well travelled people. We have been doing up the place over the past few years and have found that most regular guests have really enjoyed seeing the ongoing improvement and we are happy with the rooms. We have also been going through a major hot water project so the two patios that have been linked to this needs to be revamped again. We are almost there.
We are glad you found the room to be comfortable enough for 4 people. These rooms are becoming a cost effected solution for many travelling couples due to the size.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arista of Rotorua 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arista of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.