We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afraid of heights? Give it a go. Seriously if I can do it anyone can!! (Cliche but true in this case)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rats Raft & Kayak

River Rats Raft & Kayak
391 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
+64 7-345 6543
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 56 activities in Rotorua
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: River Rats have been offering quality adventures for over 30 years. There’s something for everyone, from a gentle grade 2 scenic raft trip suitable for participants as young as 5 years old, through to full on grade 5 action featuring the world's highest commercially rafted waterfall. Kayaking is available as freedom hire or a guided tour. Paddle the local lakes to a secluded beach or enjoy a hot water swim only accessible by boat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
“Afraid of heights? Give it a go. Seriously if I can do it anyone can!! (Cliche but true in this case)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I've afraid of heights and was apprehensive about doing the grade 5. I'd done a grade 3 before n that was fine. But knowing there'd be big drops in the grade 5 I started to freak out. My partner wanted to do this so I was up for it. I let the guide know I was apprehensive n would probably cry and scream! The safety check was thorough. Onto the rapids we go. Super fun. For some reason I had thought we were going to be dropping over the height of the niaga falls. Guide paid attention to my concerns and was encouraging. No regrets. Great experience with the team at river rats. Awesome professional photos too. Thanks guys and girls :) oh and there were no tears just adrenaline omg's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    18
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great water fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did the Kaituna trip to experience the 7m waterfall. It was a great little trip, rapids, a chance to float in the water, even the chance to float down a rapid. The only shame is it was such a short trip, definitely a worthwhile way to spend a morning.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We did the Kaituna and we had a great time.There were plenty of rapids, an opportunity to jump in the water and the 7 metre waterfall which we rafted down. The guides were great too. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day , a little pricey to be honest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Did the 6 hour tour, guides were a great laugh and well equipped and made us feel safe, would have enjoyed bigger faster rapids but thats just me, thanks again to banter Barry , Ben and blush for entertaining us...smiley face

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Its great to hear the staff kept you entertained.
At $129 including lunch and complimentary transfers from Rotorua we believe that the Rangitaiki Rafting represents one of the best value for money adventure activities in New Zealand.
It is significantly cheaper than similar offerings in other parts of the country.
We do have higher grade options for those looking for a bigger adrenaline thrill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“White water fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We rafted down the Wairoa river which was hairy in places. Although reputed to be grade 5 only a few of the rapids were actually that challenging. As a first rafting adventure this would be a really great experience. The staff were very good and we had a good laugh. We really enjoyed the "planned" capsize and the free floating down the last few rapids. It was definitely worth doing the trip down the awesome deep gorge with native bush.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your trip.
A river is always graded on it's highest rapid. The Wairoa is the most technical of the trips that we offer and has the highest number of class 4 / 5 rapids.
We can take begginners on all the trips we offer.
For the Wairoa a begginner would need to be adventurous and a competent swimmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rats Raft & Kayak also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to River Rats Raft & Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rats Raft & Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River Rats Raft & Kayak to your Saves list