We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was okay but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

The room decor was absolutely lovely as were the facilities in the room. However there was no AC or a fan and the heat was oppressive (around 34c in the room). First thing we did was hop down to the Warehouse and purchase an oscilating fan! Noticed however they have a huge radiator on the wall for winter warmth.

The pool was not heated, and very cold in contrast to the air temperature. The spa pools: one was locked and the other so full of hair, skin, oils it looked like a real health hazard. I reported this to the staff to be told "but if we clean it it will take a day to heat up and be used again". I remarked that it surely cant be used the way it is.....They said they would have 'housekeeping' look at this. I noticed the other spa pool wasunlocked the next day but we didnt venture near them.

They had wierd hours for pool use (at peak season in high temperatures), like closed from 5 pm during the weekend but if you had rooms downstairs you could use it. We decided to use the Blue Baths, warm to 32c with lovely mineral pools offside.

Overall, we paid $119 per night but noticed many specials down the road for top class hotels at much less rate per night.

Staff very nice and friendly.

  • Liked — The decor and quality of the tv, hairdryer etc. Very private too. Lovely staff.
  • Disliked — No air conditioning, fan, and pool time restrictions if not on the pool level accommodation.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
37
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights during the 1st week of Dec 2008. Booked this hotel as from various web searches it looked like there wasn't accommodation readily available, how wrong, there is a tonne of vacant accommodation this time of year , so we needn't have booked in advance. Although the rooms are clean, this hotel doesn't have airconditioning so you have to keep the windows open otherwise it's really stuffy & it is really noisy, it's right behind a big petrol station on the major road into town & most rooms face onto the pool area so if anyone is in the pool the noise just reverberates, also there is no internet connection. it's quite a way out of town. this hotel is very overpriced for the facilities provided.

  • Liked — Room was reasonable size
  • Disliked — Noise, No Airconditioning
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed one night at Quest Rotorua and were happy with our stay.

Our check in was friendly and quick, and they were happy to suggest where to go and what to see.

The rooms were very modern and slick, with great decor, and a fantastic designer bedroom. Plasma TV, and heated bed blankets were also great.

There was a very small area for toaster, kettle and microwave.

There was a lovely heated swimming pool and spa area.

Its about 4 mins drive from the centre, but there was plenty of parking in town so we did not mind this.

We paid 115 nz dollars on wotif for the accomodation.

Rotorua is a pretty village, very well manicured and clean, with lovely gardens, highstreet and historic buildings.

It does smell quite bad, due to the thermal activity, not much you can do about this!

There were many cheaper motels along Fenton Street towards Quest that looked very well kept and presented for 'motels' and i would be tempted to try these next time, though we were very happy with our stay.

  • Liked — designer interior
  • Disliked — bit far to walk to town centre
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
612 helpful votes 612 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

This place was OK, but I wasn't impressed. It's supposed to be serviced apartments, but it's really just a re-decorated motel. Just putting in a microwave oven and a mini-fridge doesn't make it an apartment. The lobby is that of a motel, certainly not anything grand. The color scheme of the room was not attractive. There were gray tiles in the entry way, and then brown carpet in the rest of the room. In the bathroom, the textures and design just didn't go together well. They should have had a professional designer plan the colors to be used in the rooms. The king bed was just two twin beds pushed together. I asked for a quiet room and got one facing the street. Cheap single-pane glass was used in the balcony door, when dual pane would be called for. There's a big screen TV in the room, but only a few channels. After 8pm, reception closes down and you can't use the internet in the lobby area. The bed was very comfortable. The energy saving light bulbs in the room were very dim. It's not a bad place, but I would try elsewhere next time. By the way, the construction work is all done, according to the staff.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

The hotel website did not mention that this is still a construction site. There were builders and the sounds of construction throughout the day, dust sheets in the corridors and open paint tins.

The room itself was of a good standard, the 'kitchen' was a fridge and microwave, no sink or dishwasher to do dishes.

The cleaning staff got my disabled son's toy caught up with the sheets and it was lost for good which was a cause of great upset.

The swimming pool was closed despite being reassured there would be a pool available.

It was a good proximity to the thermal area, but despite being told it was a 4* hotel by the front desk when we raised concerns, it was definitely not a 4* experience.

Far too expensive for what was on offer.

  • Liked — Rooms were of a good standard
  • Disliked — over priced, poorly serviced, still a construction site
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed three nights here in the one bedroom executive apartment. There were three of us ( one child), be aware the single bed is in the main living room. We were disappointed as it does not have all the features advertised on their website. The hotel is barely half finished , there are builders here all day every day. There are luxury furnishings but many are impractical and items you do expect are not available. For example there is a kitchenette and it is VERY small - no room to put down a drying rack. There is no coffee maker or even plunger coffee here. There was no hairdryer despite being listed as available in rooms. The room was cold - it has one central heating panel and a heated towel rack BUT this was not warm enough for winter - we had a little electric fan heater on all night as well. There were no electric blankets. The bed was very comfortable with nice linen. Overall it was okay.

  • Liked — The soft furnishings
  • Disliked — The cold room and no electric blankets.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Address: 7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.