We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean tidy and well priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Save Saved
You added Apollo Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean tidy and well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We initially stopped over the road at the Holiday Inn but they weren't very helpful. We went right over the road to the Apollo and were very pleasantly surprised. It's in a quite spot away from the traffic. The staff are very friendly and the room was very good. Comfy king sized bed with crisp sheets along with enough space for anyone. The staff members we dealt with had a good knowledge of the local area. We loved it.

Room Tip: The upper floors might be a bit quieter given the bottom floor units face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waitomo Caves
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed two nights would definitely return. I loved the location as it is quietly tucked away off the main Fenton Street beat but is still incredibly close driving to all the things we wanted to see and do in Rotorua. Thank you so much, we had an amazing stay at Apollo Hotel. Loved the interconnecting room options. It should be mentioned that the two different staff we dealt with here were both very friendly, professional, helpful and approachable. Our lovely receptionist even printed our Ice Skate Rink tickets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and found out everything perfect as a culmination of comfort, quality, ambience, and off course service. The manager himself is directly involved in addressing even the smallest need of any customer and is a very helpful lad.

Al in all, a peaceful place in Rotorua for that much needed break !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and friends went for weekend .. It was great time .. receptionist guy helped a lot to. Make our trip better ..he gave a very good ideas how to enjoy around rotorua ..lovely and friendly staff
Would love to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was really nice and clean. We stayed in the standard studio room and was just perfect for what we needed as it has a separate bedroom from the living room and a small kitchen. King sized bed, air conditioning and large screen tv with sky channels. It also had a balcony which provides you amazing view of Rotorua all the time. We enjoyed our stay a lot there. Staff is very user friendly and the services were excellent. I would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well some time you do not have to spend too much to stay in a nice place with a flawless serice, Me and my wife stayed in standared studio room with a king bed and ofcourse one of the best serice i have come across in a long time, there was 1 indian gentleman (Aryaveer) at the front, I assume he was managing the property and he managed his collor very well to dealt with all our request and gave us a thums up everytime we needed him and the whole experience was great since the time we checked in till we checked out, the only thing you have to worry about while you are here is to decide what was great, the service , the property or the town itseld, everything was so Exquisite.
I think if you are in rotorua and these guys have space and if you need somewhere to stay, I would say thats the place you are looking for in this price range and make sure while you are in finally ask as much question as you can because staff specially the manager are quite good in answering all of it...............

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room itself was comfortable, but relatively small. It had two double beds pushed together, two bedside tables, a TV on a dresser, a small fridge and microwave with a few basic dishes, but no separate 'kitchen' sink. The bathroom was large and fairly newly renovated. On the whole, it was a good deal for $150/2nights on a GrabOne but I wouldn't have wanted to pay full price.

This hotel is fine at the discounted rate but even with this reduced rate, it would not be my preferred place to stay in Rotorua; I care more about functionality than newer furnishings and there are some great old motels that are the same price range but that offer full self-catering.

At the regular (non-discounted) hotel rate, I would definitely shop around as the Apollo does not seem to be competitively priced for the market.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apollo Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Address: 7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Apollo Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.