We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly, spacious, grate value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added B&B @ The Redwoods to your Saves list
B&B @ The Redwoods
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Awatea Tce | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 inc Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 49 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sudbury
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly, spacious, grate value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Vivian was welcoming with coffee and cake when we arrived. She helped us plan our visit and was interested in our plans. The location is convenient to town and a walk in the redwood forest behind the house. Breakfast was perfect to set us in our way for the day. We met another couple at breakfast whom we met again and subsequently climbed mount Tongararo with them. The room was large and clean and well equipped. We made friends and would certainly return to Rotorua to stay at Redwoods again.

Room Tip: Just 2 rooms, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
223
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife, I and our three children stayed for one night. We could have happily sayed for weeks. Lovely home baking on arrival, great lounge, free wi-fi, terrific rooms and a luxurious breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here and enjoyed ourselves. Vivian was a wonderful host and made sure that we were settled in upon our arrival. She offered us suggestions on what we can do for the evening in Rotorua as well. During the morning, we had a delicious breakfast together with the other couple that was there and along with Vivian, had a enjoyable conversation. Vivian also helped us book a few activities for us as well (Wai-o-Tapu and Hobbiton). The room was clean, comfortable and offered more than enough space for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed with Vivien for 2 nights on our 2 week tour of New Zealand. The room was spacious and clean. The location was close to the city center of Rotorua. Vivien was a gracious host and the breakfasts were amazing and the wine and welcome cake were good also fantastic. We were very close to the Redwood park. We enjoyed our stay ver much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 wonderful nights. Our plan was to only stay for 1night as we were trying to visit as many cities as possible in Northern Island; however, Vivien, our lovely host, gave us every information that we needed and showed us all the things we could do in Rotorua and since the place was so great we simply didn't want to leave. Our room was very clean and comfy, the breakfast was great, and every activity that Vivien suggested was truly wonderful. This place certainly made our trip more memorable. If we are lucky enough to visit Rotorua again, we'd love to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We loved our stay at B&B@The Redwoods! The rooms were beautifully designed to feel like we were in our own private location, complete with charming blackbirds singing in the trees outside. Vivien was a truly wonderful host, and recommended some great things to do while in Rotorua. She even baked us a delicious carrot cake! We can't rave enough about this place - we will definitely stay there again if we are in Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was very nearly the best guesthouse I've ever stayed in. Here are the three reasons why:

1. Hospitality. The proprietor, Vivien, was so friendly and helpful - well above the call of duty. Throughout my stay she would spend up to an hour of her own time just sitting around chatting and making you feel at home; and when the time came to leave she insisted upon giving a lift down to the bus station.

2. The house is spotlessly clean and well-appointed: the rooms are so comfortable and there is a guest living room in which you are able to relax, enjoy tea and biscuits, etc.

3. Attention to detail. Both Vivien and Peter took plenty of time to advise on what there was to do in Rotorua; and would even make the phone call to book something for you.

In summary, this was the sort of B&B in which you feel more like a visiting pal than a customer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best rooms: probably at the rear of the house, facing onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Tce | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B @ The Redwoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.