We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our hosts were exceptional in assisting us with our travel plans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lake House Rotorua to your Saves list
The Lake House Rotorua
6 Cooper Ave, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our hosts were exceptional in assisting us with our travel plans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Our hosts, Carol & Ken have the most beautiful place on the water and our stay was truly fantastic!
Our room was quite spacious with a large picture window overlooking their vast backyard complete with beautiful gardens and of course the water.
There was glass doors from our room opening onto the porch, where one could sit and watch the water, take a walk on the beach or enjoy sitting in their hot tub!
In the hallway, you will find a small beverage area to make a cup or tea or coffee. There is also a small frig. A thank you to Ken & Carol for allowing us to watch the last part of the Canadian opening Olympics on their large screen. Both are very accommodating hosts and will assist you with your travelling plans, so that you truly enjoy your stay in the Rotorua area. We stayed two evenings with them and went to a Maori event one evening. Unfortunately, the bus forgot to pick us up and Ken very dutifully took us over there and we returned by bus. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We took a 3 week trip to Australia and New Zealand to celebrate our 5th anniversary. Rotorua was our last destination and we are so glad we chose to make that stop. This is the first time we have stayed at a B&B and it is the best decision in choosing the Lake House.

Ken and Carol are such wonderful hosts! Carol showed us to our room so we can settle in. We then joined them in the living room for afternoon tea and were chatted forever like we were visiting old friends! The most wonderful touch was that Carol made me dairy free banana muffins since I told her about my dietary choice. I took the recipe home with me.

We stayed at the Tahi room at the Lake House for 2 nights. It has a full bathroom. The house is very clean and the room is spacious with a beautiful view out to the lake. Location is away from the city center where the sulfur smell is in town which we prefer and it is very quiet and relaxing.

Carol showed us the hot tub room and kayaks that we can use. Since we were here for a short 2 night stays, we didn't have a chance to use it. But the lake view from the house is just wonderful at this quiet location.

Reservation was easy and we paid upon departure. Ken let us use their computer in the living room office whenever we like. We were able to watch TV in the evening in the living room as well since we go to bed late. Carol not only gave us affordable car rental suggestions, she made suggestions on things to do during our 2 night stay in Rotorua before heading back home to the US. From geothermal parks visits to off-roading to Kerosene creek for a natural thermal spring soak for free. Carol even arranged our Mitai maori show reservation for the evening we arrived at the Lake House. We enjoyed the Hangi meal, Maori performance as well as the kiwi bird viewing at Rainbow Springs after the show.

Breakfast was always plenty, toasts, english muffins with eggs cooked to order, variety of jams and spreads, mixed fruit salad, coffee, hot tea, orange juice, and the wonderful company of the hosts to chat with. We could have easily sit around the breakfast table and enjoy the company all day without going anywhere.

The pictures tell all. The Lake House looks as it shows on the photos on their web site. We are now worried that we will never be able to stay at any other B&B that will meet the same standard as the Lake House. And we told ourselves that if all B&B's are like our Lake House experience, we will always stay at B&B.

If you're visiting Rotorua and looking for a place to stay, you will not regret your choice!

Thank you Ken & Carol for making us at home and we wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Ken and Carol were delightful hosts and great company, with nothing too much effort. They provided us with good tips and advice about the area, and made us feel very much at home. Although outside the centre of Rotorua, it is a short, easy drive in, and the calm of the lakeside setting was preferable to the city centre. We never got to use the hot tub or kayaks which was a shame!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

After two months at NZ and 17 B&B (all 4, 4+ and 5*), the Lake House was simply the best. Beautiful Hosts, very comfortable room, really a home from home.
The B&B is located outside of Rotorua, but directly along the lakeshore. Very quiet, about 5 to 8 minutes to drive to the city center. Nearby is a very good restaurant, only three minutes to walk.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed with Carol and Ken for two nights in the Tahi room. We were made very welcome with home made scones and great breakfasts. Ken was very helpful with some advice which made the best use of our time in visiting locations in the vicinity. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. We went swimming in the lake at the bottom of the garden and finished up in the hot-tub - what could be better? A fabulous place to stay - wish we had known about The Lake House earlier- we would have stayed longer! The restaurant almost next door is also excellent - we had a terrific meal and drinks and the facility of a short walk home!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

From the moment I arrived Ken and Carol did their best to make me feel at home and to help me enjoy Rotorua. Carol provided delicious breakfasts and tea and cake every afternoon and Ken helped me make the most of my time in the area with suggestions about where to visit and how to get there; he even provided me with a route to my next place. They are both very friendly and never seem too busy for a chat or to provide help. Lake house is a lovely house beautifully located by the lake within easy reach of the centre of Rotorua, the hot tub must be the one with the best view in New Zealand. One of the friendliest places I stayed in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

V comfy room and bathrooms in own wing of eco friendly, beautiful-looking B&B. Room with french windows overlooking pretty and well-tended gardens and lawns straight onto stunning lake rotorua. Feels like you have your own private beach - which in effect you do. Access to perception kayaks, great fun and easy to use.

Extremely helpful, friendly, accommodating and attentive hosts, serving great hearty breakfasts and always ready with useful recommendations, to give guidance and help make bookings. We're very lucky to have found this hidden gem in Rotorua.

Thank you Ken and Carol. (Hope the Wolves win next time!).

Andree & Harry.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Address: 6 Cooper Ave, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Lake House Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.