We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and gorgeous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lake House Rotorua to your Saves list
The Lake House Rotorua
6 Cooper Ave, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and gorgeous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights with Carol and ken at The Lake House in the Tahi room. The room was very pretty and had all the needed bits and pieces (hair dryer, robes, tv etc etc). The joint coffee/tea station was also well equipped with a big range as well as fruit and soft drinks.

The location of the B&B was gorgeous - right on the lake front and made breakfast time a beautiful experience. Breakfast was always delicious, as were the afternoon tea goodies cooked by Carol!

What made the Lake House extra special were our hosts who were super-friendly and who could answer all manner of tourist questions with authority! Carol and Ken were so welcoming without being over-bearing and made our trip very easy. The places that they recommended to visit were beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Lovely people, made us feel so welcome and our hosts made delicious home-baked cookies too! We had a wonderful stay here back in December - the property is gorgeous and the garden overlooking the lake is simply stunning (even in the rain!) - the hot tub in the conservatory is an added luxury! A very peaceful and beautiful stay in Rotorua - fairly central yet away from the smell too!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This house had everything you could wish for - the perfect setting; views of the lake; no sulphur smell; fabulous hosts; yummy homemade biscuits and proper breakfast; comfy beds ( we stayed with our 6 yr old son); the jacuzzi room; the kayaks and helpful advice about anything you might need. Our whistle-stop tour of Rotorua turned into a highlight of our trip because we chose to stay here. We would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Extra beds for children are available - just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our two night stay was most enjoyable. A spectacular setting on the shores of Lake Rotorua with a comfortable, clean bedroom with lake views and beautiful decor throughout the house. Ken and Carol were engaging hosts who provided plenty of options for our time in Rotorua. Lovely breakfast and yummy afternnoon tea. Would recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in February and had a wonderful time.The house was lovely, the lakeside location perfect.We mainly appreciated Carol and Ken's friendly hospitality, lending us kayaks, giving us tips on things to do and giving us lots of time.The bedroom was very luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a fabulous stay in February at Carol and Ken's lovely home in the stunning location on the shores of the Lake. Only a short drive from all the attractions and easy walking to a good restaurant, but away from the sulphur fumes! They were the perfect hosts, and made us most welcome. The bedrooms were comfortable and well equipped (we stayed in the smaller ensuite room which had views of the lake and direct access to the gardens and verandah) and Carol's breakfasts and afternoon teas were a real treat. All the facilities you could wish for, and a jaccuzzi too! Their website was also very helpful, and even before we arrived, they had helped us plan our itinerary to see the best attractions in the area in our limited time. We would thoroughly recommend it and far better than an impersonal hotel. (Also discovered a mutual connection in the UK with Theydon Bois Golf Club!!)

Room Tip: Both rooms are very nice, but the larger is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I chose this B&B mainly because the location looked spectacular and it certainly doesn`t disappoint, the lake is a mere few metres away and the view is spectacular.
However, even without the view this would still garner 5 stars for the quality and comfort provided and the wonderful help, hints and suggestions for the best of Roturua from Carol and Ken. They are warm, friendly and very interesting hosts and we will always remember our stay here as much for the evening chats as the view

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Address: 6 Cooper Ave, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Lake House Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.