We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Fall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haruru Falls

Haruru Falls
Waitangi River, Paihia, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Attractions in Paihia
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Solihull
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Water Fall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Well worth the visit as it is very close to Paihia. The water fall when we visited was not running very quickly as we were in the middle of summer but Autumn or winter would be more spectacular I would think.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    190
    152
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tramping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great natural spot, we'll worth the visit. We both walked from the Treaty Grounds to the falls, which is a interesting 5km walk through local bush alongside the river. We also took part on a mornings Kayaking tour from the beach down the river to the falls.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice little falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Don't expect massive falls and thundering water. We went in Feb so water level low but a pleasant waterfall in nice setting

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

the falls are cute for a drop by, but nothing more to do...just need 5-10 minutes to take pictures and that's it

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK but not as good as Rainbow Falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It wasn't really anything special, just a smallish waterfall. Rainbow Falls was more spectacular. Just stopped on the road to have a look.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haruru Falls also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Haruru Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haruru Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.