We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments
Save
You added Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments to your Saves list
58 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Good service, location and amenities. On arrival 4 lightbulbs were not working and needed to be replaced. Dealt with promptly but gave the impression that a thorough check hadn't been done before our arrival. Other small things. Stated in laundry that a washing line was available near the pool area, but no sign of the washing line. We missed not having a DVD player available in one of the apartments.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Affordability was the key for booking Sublime Apartments. Sleeping 3 in a self-contained unit can be exy. This unit made it affordable - with space to stretch out. The balcony was a favourite place to drink in the bushy setting. Birds flitting everywhere. The only draw back was the sliding door barely slid at the point of closure. It really felt like a workout to close or open it. Would have loved a screen door too so we could allow the cool breeze in at night and keep the bugs out!
Mark was a great host - right there when we needed him and all too eager to make us comfortable.
It took us about 10 minutes to walk down to the water's edge and there was an abundance of cafes, restaurants to eat at when we got there.
We would definitely stay at Sublime Apartments again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

My wife and I just finished a stay at Sublime Apartments with another couple, and we had a great time. The rooms were clean, with lots of light, and extremely well-priced. The location was also fantastic -- basically just a 10-minute walk right up the block to get into the heart of Paihia (including the wharf, for any boat tours). The owner, Mark, was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Great location! Ideal self contained unit - we were able to cook (when we wanted to! ) so the savings were brilliant. Just a short walk to Paihia central and the ferries. Comfortable and quiet (plenty of room for the 3 of us although with 5 or 6 it would be very cosy). Try "The Edge" catamaran trip around the islands - it was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our family really enjoyed staying at Sublime Apartments for 2 days during New Year. My two little sons loved to play water guns at the swimming pool, we liked to go for a walk to the town after dinner, very nice place to stay, Mark was very friendly and always put a great smile on his face, thanks for upgrading us to a high view one, we enjoyed the beautiful views, we would like stay again next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Great loctaion, only 5 mins walk from Paihia beach. Apartments very clean and well equiped, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Mark was a great host, very friendly, left you to it if you wanted or included you in birthday party celebrations etc if you fancied! Lovely location, room very clean and functional. Bed very comfy. only 5 mins walk to town. so quiet and a great suntrap up in the hills! Enjoyed every minute, many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments

Address: 58 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by bush, yet only 700m from Paihia’s beautiful beach, we offer quality accommodation at an affordable price and provide you with everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Sublime Apartments Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.