We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-Contained Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments
58 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Self-Contained Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great place to stay in Paihia if you're looking for self-contained accommodation at a budget price. It is a bit far from the town area which is problematic if got there via bus and lack your own transport, especially when you got bags with you or when making supermarket trips.

The apartment we stayed in was great and in very tidy and clean condition. A queen bed in the lounge area which also had comfy sofas and a dining table. Kitchen was well equipped, with microwave and cooktop, all necessary pots and pans, utensils and dishes. A separate bedroom had a comfortable double bed and we used that primarily coz I have a haunting suspicion the bed out in the lounge had bed bugs.

The manager was very easy to deal with, friendly emails from the very start when I started making enquiries. The other guests were also very friendly and seconded that.
The pool pictures were a drawcard but was sad to discover that the pool was out of use, dirty and freezing cold. But that could just have been a temporary thing given we stayed there in the middle of winter and this was a while ago now. But overall happy with my stay there

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

A great 2 night stay and pleasantly surprised just how comfortable it was. Had every amenity needed not to mention a great view. Was impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the manager. Would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

I recommend Sublime Apartment to all the people who wants to go out there and relax a bit out in sun and a peaceful quite nite. Friendly and very approachable people. A good value for money. rated A++

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huia, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Nice place to stay. Quiet and clean. Older units, but looked like they had been done up reasonably recently. Liked the bush setting and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Some welcome supplies (milk/coffee/sugar would have been nice, but not a biggie). Quick and easy dealings with Mark. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

If what you want is very reasonably priced accommodation which is basic but entirely functional and comfortable then you have found the right place. Mark is a very helpful guy, the location is close enough to the centre without being right in it, and the beds were super-comfy. Would have been better if the pool was functional and the bbq clean but never mind. When we are up that way again we would definitely use sublime again; especially given the value for money. thanks sublime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

WoW!! We had a wonderful time.. The place was clean and tidy..just the perfect size for my family..Anyone wants quite and privacy this is the place to go!!Promp communication much appreciate.Happy to return...Many thanks to Mark and Nick

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

sublime is an awesome place to stay. the atmosphere is friendly and we felt like to be at home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments

Address: 58 School Rd, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by bush, yet only 700m from Paihia’s beautiful beach, we offer quality accommodation at an affordable price and provide you with everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Sublime Apartments Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments to your Saves list